Friday, February 19, 2016

RANDOM / APPROX call for papers

RANDOM 2016 The 20th International Workshop on Randomization and
APPROX 2016 The 19th International Workshop on Approximation Algorithms
for Combinatorial Optimization Problems

September 7-9, 2016
Institut Henri Poincaré, Paris


The 20th International Workshop on Randomization and Computation
(RANDOM'2016) and the 19th International Workshop on Approximation
Algorithms for Combinatorial Optimization Problems (APPROX'2016) will
be held on September 7-9, 2016 at the Institut Henri Poincaré, Paris,
organized by IRIF (CNRS and Université Paris Diderot).
RANDOM'2016 focuses on applications of randomness to computational and
combinatorial problems while APPROX'2016 focuses on algorithmic and
complexity theoretic issues relevant to the development of efficient
approximate solutions to computationally difficult problems.

Papers are solicited in all research areas related to randomization and
approximation, including but not limited to:


* design and analysis of randomized algorithms
* randomized complexity theory
* pseudorandomness and derandomization
* random combinatorial structures
* random walks/Markov chains
* expander graphs and randomness extractors
* probabilistic proof systems
* random projections and embeddings
* error-correcting codes
* average-case analysis
* property testing
* computational learning theory


* approximation algorithms
* hardness of approximation
* small space, sub-linear time and streaming algorithms online
* approaches that go beyond worst case analysis
* distributed and parallel approximation
* embeddings and metric space methods
* mathematical programming methods
* spectral methods
* combinatorial optimization in graphs and networks
* algorithmic game theory, mechanism design and economics
* computational geometric problems
* approximate learning

Submissions deadline: TUESDAY, APRIL 19 , 2016
Notifications: Wednesday, June 22 ,2016
Camera ready: Friday, July 1, 2016

Abstract Format: Electronic submissions are solicited. Please consult
the following servers:
For submission of APPROX papers: [1]
For submission of RANDOM papers: [2]
Note: You will be asked to login using an EasyChair account.
Instructions on how to register for such an account are available at the
submission servers (you may also have an old account from a previous
conference submission).
The submission must be received by 15:00 (PDT) of April 19 for your
submission to be considered.
Submission Format: Submissions should start with the title of the paper,
each author's name, affiliation, and e-mail address, followed by a brief
abstract of the results to be presented. This should then be followed by
a technical exposition on single-spaced pages on letter-size paper,
using reasonable margins and at least 11-point font. The first 10 pages
should contain the main ideas and techniques used to achieve the results
including motivation and a clear comparison with related work (not
including the references). There is no page limit but any material
beyond the first 10 pages will be read at the sole discretion of the
program committee.
Simultaneous submission to other conferences with published proceedings
is not allowed.

Accepted papers will be published in the online proceedings of the
conference in the Leibniz International Proceedings in Informatics
(LIPIcs) series, based at Schloss Dagstuhl. This guarantees perennial,
free and easy electronic access, while the authors retain the rights
over their work.

Chris Umans - Caltech email:
Claire Matthieu – (CNRS and ENS Paris)
José Rolim - University of Geneva
Klaus Jansen - University of Kiel

RANDOM 2016:
Chris Umans (Caltech, Chair)
Mahdi Cheraghchi (Imperial College, London)
Elena Grigorescu (Purdue)
Neeraj Kayal (MSR Bangalore)
Adam Klivans (Austin)
Swastik Kopparty (Rutgers)
Ravi Kumar (Google)
Dana Moshkovitz (MIT)
Ashwin Nayak (Waterloo)
Ryan O'Donnell (CMU)
Asaf Shapira (Tel Aviv)
Ronen Shaltiel (Haifa)
Alexander Sherstov (UCLA)
Thomas Thierauf (Aalen)
Eric Vigoda (Georgia Tech)

APPROX 2016:
Claire Mathieu (CNRS and ENS Paris, Chair)
Anna Adamaszek (University of Copenhagen)
Shiri Chechik (Tel-Aviv University)
Anne Driemel (TU Eindhoven)
Lee-Ad Gottlieb (Ariel University)
Varun Kanade (University of Oxford)
Nitish Korula (Google Research)
Stefano Leonardi (Sapienza University of Rome)
Daniel Lokshtanov (University of Bergen)
Nicole Megow (TU Munich)
Tobias Moemke (Saarland University)
Shayan Oveis Gharan (University of Washington)
Debmalya Panigrahi (Duke University)
Richard Georgia Peng (Institute of Technology)
Ely Bar Porat (Ilan University)
Adi Rosén (CNRS and Université Paris Diderot)
Adrian Vetta (McGill University)
Rico Zenklusen (ETH Zurich)