Saturday, April 16, 2016

[DMANET] Final Call for Nominations: Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing 2017

Call for Prize Nominations:
Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing 2017

Awarded by the Colloquium on Structural Information and Communication
Complexity (SIROCCO).

Deadline for nominations: April 30, 2016.

Nominations are requested for the Prize for Innovation In Distributed
Computing. This prize was established to recognize individuals whose
research contributions expanded the collective investigative horizon in
SIROCCO's area of interest. That is, they formulated new problems, or
identified new research areas, that were at the time of their
introduction, unorthodox and outside the mainstream, but later attracted
the interest of the SIROCCO community.

This community is interested in the relationships between information
and efficiency in decentralized computing. The prize recognizes
originality, innovation, and creativity -- the qualities that reflect
the spirit of the SIROCCO conference.

The winner of the Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing 2017 is
expected to give an invited talk at SIROCCO 2017. The winner of the 2016
edition of the prize (Masafumi Yamashita) will give a talk at SIROCCO
2016 which is going to be held on July 19-21, Helsinki, Finland.

Past prize winners are Nicola Santoro, Jean-Claude Bermond, David Peleg,
Roger Wattenhofer, Andrzej Pelc, Pierre Fraigniaud, Michel Raynal, and
Masafumi Yamashita.

The prize may not necessarily be awarded every year.


The following conditions must be met by the nominees to be eligible for
the prize. It is requested that a nomination letter explains and
demonstrates how the nominee matches these conditions.

(1) The original innovative contribution was introduced by the
nominee(s) for the first time in a publication at least five years
before the nomination deadline, and the publication must have appeared
in a conference proceedings or a scientific journal.

(2) At least one paper (co)authored by the nominee(s), either the
original paper, or a paper closely related to the innovative
contribution, must have appeared in a SIROCCO proceedings.

A nomination letter should identify the paper(s) that make(s) the
nominee eligible according to conditions (1) and (2) above, as well as
explain the contribution, its originality, and its significance.

Past SIROCCO papers and authors can be found at indexing sites, e.g.
Google Scholar or

Selection process

The prize winners are selected by the Award Committee composed of the
current Steering Committee (SC) Chair of the SIROCCO conference, the PC
chairs, including co-chairs, of the three SIROCCO conferences
immediately preceding the nominations deadline, plus one additional
member of the Advisory Board, or one past winner, selected by the
Steering Committee for the current year.

The Award Committee of the Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing
2017 consists of: Paola Flocchini (University of Ottawa), Magnús
Halldórsson Reykjavik University), Thomas Moscibroda (Microsoft),
Andrzej Pelc - chair (Université du Québec en Outaouais), and Christian
Scheideler (University of Paderborn).

Nominations can be made by any member of the scientific community.

DEADLINE : The deadline for nominations is April 30, 2016.
Please send the nomination to the prize committee chair, Andrzej Pelc,
by e-mail

Please write SIROCCO Prize Nomination IN THE SUBJECT LINE.

Please help in recognizing the contributions of members of our community.
* Contributions to be spread via DMANET are submitted to
* Replies to a message carried on DMANET should NOT be
* addressed to DMANET but to the original sender. The
* original sender, however, is invited to prepare an
* update of the replies received and to communicate it
* via DMANET.