Friday, August 3, 2018

[DMANET] EAPLS PhD Award 2016–17: Call for Nominations

EAPLS PhD Award 2016–17: Call for Nominations


The European Association for Programming Languages and Systems (EAPLS)
has established a Best Dissertation Award in the international
research area of programming languages and systems. The award will go
to the Ph.D. student who in the previous period has made the most
original and influential contribution to the area. The purpose of the
award is to draw attention to excellent work, to help the career of
the student in question, and to promote the research field as a whole.


Eligible for the award are those who successfully defended their PhD
* at an academic institution in Europe
* in the field of Programming Languages and Systems
* in the period from 1 January 2016 – 31 December 2017


Candidates for the award must be nominated by their supervisor.
Nominating a candidate consists of submitting the nomination to The nomination must
consist of a single PDF file containing
* a letter from the supervisor describing why the thesis should be
considered for the award;
* a report from an independent researcher who has acted as examiner of
the thesis at its defense; and
* the thesis itself.
The theses will be evaluated with respect to originality, influence,
relevance to the field and (to a lesser degree) quality of writing.

Questions can be directed to the Ph.D. award chairs, at<>.


The nominations will be evaluated and compared by an international
committee of experts. The procedure to be followed is analogous to the
review phase of a conference. The justification by the supervisor and
the external report will play an important role in the evaluation. The
final decision is made by the EAPLS board, based on the recommendation
of the expert committee.

Members of the expert committee and the EAPLS board are barred from
nominating their own Ph.D. students for the award.

The award consists of a certificate announcing the winner to have
received the EAPLS Ph.D. award 2017 and the supervisor will receive a
copy of this certificate. If possible, the certificate will be handed
out ceremonially at a suitable occasion, as for instance the ETAPS

Apart from the winner, no further ranking of nominees will be
published. The decision of the expert committee is final and binding,
and will not be subject to discussion.

Important Dates

31 August 2018: Deadline for nominations
1 December 2018: Announcement of the award winner

Expert Committee

The expert committee includes:
* Thorsten Altenkirch, University of Nottingham
* Anya Helene Bagge, University of Bergen (co-chair)
* Eerke Boiten, University of Kent
* Ahmed Bouajjani, Université Paris Diderot - Paris 7
* Luis Caires, FCT / Universidade Nova de Lisboa
* Marco Carbone, IT University of Copenhagen
* Kei Davis, Los Alamos National Laboratory
* Mariangiola Dezani, Universitá di Torino
* JosuKa Díaz Labrador, Universidad de Deusto
* Derek Dreyer, Max Planck Institute for Software Systems
* Maurizio Gabbrielli, University of Bologna
* Sabine Glesner, Technische Universität Berlin
* Stefan Gruner, University of Pretoria
* Christoph Kirsch, University of Salzburg
* Tiziana Margaria, University of Limerick
* Greg Michaelson, Heriot-Watt University
* Catuscia Palamidessi, INRIA and Ecole Polytechnique
* Matteo Pradella, Politecnico di Milano
* Gunter Saake, Otto-von-Guericke-University Magdeburg
* Tom Schrijvers, KU Leuven
* Bernhard Steffen, Technische Universität Dortmund
* Phil Trinder, Glasgow University
* Mark Van Den Brand, Eindhoven University of Technology
* Marko Van Eekelen, Radboud University Nijmegen
* Andreas Wortmann, RWTH Aachen University (co-chair)
* Contributions to be spread via DMANET are submitted to
* Replies to a message carried on DMANET should NOT be
* addressed to DMANET but to the original sender. The
* original sender, however, is invited to prepare an
* update of the replies received and to communicate it
* via DMANET.