Wednesday, August 31, 2011

SIGACT EC Nominations and More

NOMINATIONS for SIGACT Executive Committee
ACM will hold elections in spring 2012 for the next SIGACT Executive Committee to take office July 1 to serve a three-year term. We are seeking nominations for candidates for the SIGACT chair and four at-large positions. Vice-chair and Secretary/Treasurer will be chosen later from the at-large positions. Details in the SIGACT Bylaws

You are welcome to nominate others or yourselves. All candidates must be SIGACT and ACM Professional members and must be willing to serve if elected. Please send names of your nominee(s) to the nominating committee chair (

Current SIGACT EC: Cynthia Dwork, Lance Fortnow (Chair), Richard Ladner (Past Chair), Anna Lysyanskaya (Secretary/Treasurer), Michael Mitzenmacher (Vice-Chair), Michael Saks

Nominations Committee: Lance Fortnow (Chair), Anna Lysyanskaya, Eva Tardos

NSF Grants
A reminder that the NSF CCF core programs "medium size" deadline is coming up Sept 30. Medium-size grants are for 500k-1.2m spread over a period of 3-4 years, and typically involve teams of 2-3 researchers (though single-researcher proposals are allowed).  So this is a great chance to get together with colleagues at your and/or other institutions and put together a proposal!

See for all the details.

Note that in addition to the primary benefit of obtaining funds for your research, a robust submission of quality proposals also helps TCS demonstrate its vitality to the NSF.

SIGACT Founder Patrick Fischer is Dead at 75
Patrick Fischer, who founded SIGACT and the STOC conference, passed away last Friday, August 26.

STOC 2012 Call for Papers
Deadline for submissions is November 2

STOC 2011 Videos
Videos of the talks from the STOC 2011 conference is now available on the ACM DL. All SIGACT members have full access.

Award Nominations
Gödel Prize and Knuth Prize calls will be posted soon.
SIGACT Distinguished Service Prize
ACM Awards

As always you can keep up with the latest news from SIGACT at and