Friday, May 3, 2013

[DMANET] Last CFP: CCCG'13 Canadian Conference on Computational Geometry 2013 (Deadline extended)

25th Canadian Conference on Computational Geometry (CCCG 2013)

August 8-10, 2013, University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Ontario.

To be held in conjunction with:

+ Summer School in Geometry and Data Structures, August 5-7, 2013,
Waterloo, Ontario,

+ Algorithms and Data Structures Symposium (WADS), August 12-14, 2013,
London, Ontario,

+ Conference on Space Efficient Data Structures, Streams and Algorithms,
in honor of Ian Munro 66th birthday, August 15-16, 2013, Waterloo,


The 25th Canadian Conference on Computational Geometry will be held in
Waterloo, Ontario, on August 8-10, 2013. There will be a reception on
the evening of the 7th.

CCCG has a tradition of being welcoming to students. It is expected
that there will be partial travel support for students and postdocs.


CCCG focuses on the design of efficient algorithms, the development of
software, and the study of the mathematical foundations of
computational problems whose formulations involve geometric
constraints. The field of computational geometry is motivated by
problems from a broad range of application areas, as diverse as
computer graphics and animation, computer vision, computer-aided
design and manufacturing, geographic information systems, pattern
recognition, wireless communications, robotics, protein folding, urban
planning, graph drawing, or statistical analysis to name just a few.
Authors are invited to submit papers describing original research of
theoretical or practical significance in computational, combinatorial
and discrete geometry, as well as related areas.


CCCG is an international forum, accessible to a broad community of
researchers, to disseminate and discuss new theoretical and applied
results in discrete and computational geometry. The intended audience
for this conference includes graduate and undergraduate students,
researchers in the area, and members of industry whose work involves
geometric computation.


Limited travel support will be available for graduate students, who are
also encouraged to attend the summer school. More details will be made
available on the conference web site in due time.


Submissions should not exceed six pages, must be submitted
electronically, and must be prepared using LaTeX; the appropriate
template is available from the conference website. Authors who
feel that additional details are necessary should include a clearly
marked appendix, which will be read at the discretion of the Program
Committee. Each submission will be refereed by at least three members
of the Program Committee. Six-page papers accepted at CCCG
will appear in the printed proceedings of the conference, provided
that they are presented by a speaker at the conference. Electronic
proceedings without page limits will be hosted at

Selected papers from the conference will be invited for submission to
a special issue of the journal Computational Geometry: Theory and

Simultaneous submission to another conference or journal is not allowed.

Submission is now open at EasyChair:


Additional details, including submission instructions and local
information, will be available at the conference webpage:


Sue Whitesides (University of Victoria)
Alla Shaffer (UBC)
Peter Widmayer (ETH Zurich) (Erdös memorial lecture)


Submissions due (EXTENDED): May 13, 2013, 4pm EST
Notification of acceptance: June 5, 2013
Final versions due: June 14, 2013
Early registration deadline: July 9th, 2013
Conference: August 8-10 (reception on 7th)


Peyman Afshani (MADALGO)
Hee-Kap Ahn (POSTECH)
Greg Aloupis (ULB)
Boaz Ben-Moshe (Ariel University Center)
Mark de Berg (TU Eindhoven)
Therese Biedl (U. Waterloo)
Gruia Calinescu (Illinois Inst. of Tech.)
Jean Cardinal (ULB)
Paz Carmi (Ben-Gurion U.)
Timothy Chan (U. Waterloo)
Mirela Damian (Villanova)
Vida Dujmovińá (Carleton)
Adrian Dumitrescu (U. Wisconsin-Milwaukee)
Sándor Fekete (TU Braunschweig)
Akitoshi Kawamura (U. Tokyo)
Alejandro López-Ortiz (U. Waterloo) (chair)
Anna Lubiw (U. Waterloo)
Anil Maheshwari (Carleton)
Lata Narayanan (Concordia)
Belén Palop (U. Valladolid)
Michiel Smid (Carleton)
Bettina Speckmann (TU Eindhoven)
Csaba Tóth (U. Calgary)
Ryuhei Uehara (JAIST)
Emo Welzl (ETH Zurich)
Norbert Zeh (Dalhousie)


Therese Biedl (co-chair)
Timothy Chan
Francisco Claude
Hella Hoffmann
Shahin Kamali
Alejandro López-Ortiz (co-chair)
Anna Lubiw (co-chair)
Daniela Maftuleac
Patrick Nicholson
Venkatesh Raman
Alejandro Salinger
Hamideh Vosoughpour
Gelin Zhou


We thank the following organizations for generously supporting CCCG 2013:

Fields Institute
University of Waterloo
Atlantic Association for Research in the Mathematical Sciences (AARMS)

* Contributions to be spread via DMANET are submitted to
* Replies to a message carried on DMANET should NOT be
* addressed to DMANET but to the original sender. The
* original sender, however, is invited to prepare an
* update of the replies received and to communicate it
* via DMANET.