Tuesday, November 3, 2015

[DMANET] PODC 2016 Call for Papers

PODC 2016 First Call for Papers

The 35th ACM SIGACT-SIGOPS Symposium on Principles of Distributed Computing
(PODC 2016)
July 25-28, 2016
Chicago, Illinois, USA



Submission: February 12, 2016
Notification: April 29, 2016
Camera-ready: May 23, 2016

All deadlines are 23:59 HAST time zone and firm.


PODC solicits papers in all areas of distributed computing. Papers from
all viewpoints, including theory, practice, and experimentation, are
welcome. The common goal of the conference is to improve understanding
of the principles underlying distributed computing.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to, the following subjects:

- distributed algorithms: design, analysis, and complexity
- communication networks: algorithms, architectures, services,
protocols, applications
- multiprocessor and multi-core architectures and algorithms
- shared and transactional memory, synchronization protocols, concurrent
- fault-tolerance, reliability, availability, self-organization,
- codes and reliable communication
- Internet applications, social networks, recommendation systems
- dynamic, adaptive and machine learning based distributed algorithms
- distributed operating systems, middleware platforms, databases
- game-theoretic approaches to distributed computing
- distributed mechanisms design
- peer-to-peer systems, overlay networks, distributed data management
- high-performance, cluster, cloud and grid computing
- wireless networks, mobile computing, autonomous agents and robots
- context-aware distributed systems
- security in distributed computing, cryptographic protocols
- distributed cryptocurrencies and blockchain protocols
- quantum and optics based distributed algorithms
- nanonetworks
- biological distributed algorithms
- sensor, mesh, and ad hoc networks
- specification, semantics, verification of concurrent systems

Submission: Papers are to be submitted electronically, following the
guidelines available on the conference web page
(http://www.podc.org/podc2016). All submissions must be in English, in
pdf format. Note that the deadline is firm.

A submission for a regular presentation must report original research.
Papers submitted for regular presentations must contain results that
have not previously appeared, and have not been concurrently submitted
to a journal or conference with published proceedings. Any partial
overlap with any such published or concurrently submitted paper must be
clearly indicated. Papers for regular presentation must include:
(1) a cover page, stating the title of the paper, the authors' names and
affiliations, the corresponding author's e-mail, an abstract, and an
indication of whether the paper should be considered for the best
student paper award, and if so the name(s) of the student(s) recommended
for the award;
(2) an extended abstract of up to 10 pages (excluding the cover page and
(3) references.
Additional details may be included in a clearly marked appendix, which
will be read at the discretion of the program committee. This appendix
may simply be the complete paper. A regular submission that is not
selected for regular presentation may be invited for a brief announcement.

A submission for a brief announcement must be no longer than 3
single-column pages on letter-size paper, including title, authors'
names and affiliations, and references. Such submissions may describe
work in progress or work presented elsewhere. The title of a brief
announcement must begin with the words "Brief Announcement:"

Formatting for both regular submissions and brief announcements:
letter-size (8 1/2 x 11 inch) paper, single-column format, using at
least 1 inch margins, 11-point font. Submissions deviating from these
guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits.

Publication: Regular papers and brief announcements will be included in
the conference proceedings. Regular papers receive up to 10 pages, and
brief announcements receive up to 3 pages in the proceedings.

Extended and revised versions of selected papers will be considered for
a special issue of the Distributed Computing journal. Two papers will be
considered for publication in JACM.

Awards: Every regular paper is eligible for the best paper award.
Regular papers co-authored by full-time students may also be eligible
for the best student paper award. For a paper to be considered for this
award, the nominated authors should be full time students at the time of
submission and they should be principally responsible for the paper's
contributions. The program committee may decline to make these awards or
may split them.


Keynote Speakers

Andrew A. Chien (University of Chicago)
Faith Ellen (University of Toronto)
Phillip B. Gibbons (Carnegie Mellon University)


Program Committee

Ittai Abraham (VMware Research Group, USA)
Yehuda Afek (Tel-Aviv University, Israel)
Marcos K. Aguilera (VMware Research Group, USA)
Dan Alistarh (Microsoft Research, Cambridge, UK)
James Aspnes (Yale University, USA)
Leonid Barenboim (The Open University of Israel, Israel)
Shiri Chechik (Tel-Aviv University, Israel)
Colin Cooper (King's College London, UK)
Oksana Denysyuk (University of Calgary, Canada)
Ittay Eyal (Cornell University, USA)
Hugues Fauconnier (LIAFA, Paris Diderot, France)
Pascal Felber (Universite de Neuchatel, Switzerland)
Wojciech Golab (University of Waterloo, Canada)
Rachid Guerraoui (EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland)
Bernhard Haeupler (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
Anne-Marie Kermarrec (INRIA, Rennes, France)
Valerie King (University of Victoria, Canada)
Adrian Kosowski (LIAFA, Paris Diderot, France)
Shay Kutten (Technion, Israel)
Christoph Lenzen (MPI Saarbruecken, Germany)
Achour Mostefaoui (Universite de Nantes, France)
Calvin Newport (Georgetown University, USA)
Merav Parter (MIT, USA)
Andrzej Pelc (Universite du Quebec en Outaouais, Canada), PC chair
Sergio Rajsbaum (UNAM, Mexico)
Andrea Richa (Arizona State University, USA)
Liam Roditty (Bar-Ilan University, Israel)
Nicola Santoro (Carleton University, Canada)
Thomas Sauerwald University of Cambridge, UK)
Jukka Suomela (Aalto University, Finland)
Gadi Taubenfeld (IDC Herzliya, Israel)
Philipp Woelfel (University of Calgary, Canada)
Haifeng Yu (National University of Singapore, Singapore)
Vassilis Zikas (ETH, Zurich, Switzerland)


Conference Committee

Chen Avin (Workshop Coordinator) - Ben-Gurion University, Israel
George Giakkoupis (General Chair) - INRIA, France
Avery Miller (Communication Co-Chair) - Tel-Aviv University, Israel
Andrzej Pelc (PC Chair) - Universite du Quebec en Outaouais, Canada
Elad Schiller (Treasurer) - Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden
Jukka Suomela (Communication Co-Chair) - Aalto University, Finland
Mark Tuttle (Publicity Chair) - Intel, USA
Nitin Vaidya (Organizing Chair) - University of Illinois, USA


Steering Committee

Shlomi Dolev - Ben-Gurion University, Israel
Pierre Fraigniaud - CNRS, Universite Paris-Diderot, France
George Giakkoupis - INRIA, France
Andrzej Pelc - Universite du Quebec en Outaouais, Canada
Elad Schiller - Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden
Paul Spirakis - University of Liverpool, UK
Nitin Vaidya (Chair) - University of Illinois, USA

* Contributions to be spread via DMANET are submitted to
* DMANET@zpr.uni-koeln.de
* Replies to a message carried on DMANET should NOT be
* addressed to DMANET but to the original sender. The
* original sender, however, is invited to prepare an
* update of the replies received and to communicate it
* via DMANET.
* http://www.zaik.uni-koeln.de/AFS/publications/dmanet/