Thursday, September 15, 2016

[DMANET] STOC 2017 Call for Papers

Call for

STOC 2017

Theory Fest

June 19-23, 2017

Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Submission Deadline: Wednesday, November 2, 2016, 11:59pm PDT

*The 49th ACM Symposium on Theory of Computing (STOC 2017)*, sponsored
by the ACM Special Interest Group on Algorithms and Computation Theory
(SIGACT <>), will be held in Montreal, Quebec,
Canada. This year, STOC will be part of *Theory Fest
<>*, an expanded program of invited talks,
tutorials, poster sessions, and workshops from *Monday, June 19 *to
*Friday, June 23, 2017.* Papers presenting new and original research on
the theory of computation are sought. Topics of interest include, but
are not limited to: algorithms and data structures, computational
complexity, randomness in computing, algorithmic graph theory and
combinatorics, approximation algorithms, cryptography, computational
learning theory, economics and computation, parallel and distributed
algorithms, quantum computing, algorithmic coding theory, computational
geometry, computational applications of logic, optimization, algebraic
algorithms, and theoretical aspects of areas such as networks, privacy,
computational biology, and databases. Papers that extend the reach of
the theory of computing, or raise important problems that can benefit
from theoretical investigation and analysis, are encouraged. The program
committee will make every effort to consider a broad range of areas.

*Submission format:* Submissions should start with a title page
consisting of the title of the paper; each author's name, affiliation,
and email address; and an abstract of 1-2 paragraphs summarizing the
paper's contributions. There is no page limit and authors are encouraged
to use the "full version" of their paper as the submission. The
submission should contain within the initial ten pages following the
title page a clear presentation of the merits of the paper, including a
discussion of the paper's importance within the context of prior work
and a description of the key technical and conceptual ideas used to
achieve its main claims. The submission should be addressed to a broad
spectrum of theoretical computer science researchers. Proofs must be
provided which can enable the main mathematical claims of the paper to
be fully verified. Although there is no bound on the length of a
submission, material other than the abstract, references, and the first
ten pages will be read at the committee's discretion. Authors are
encouraged to put the references at the very end of the submission. The
submission should be typeset using 11-point or larger fonts, in a
single-column, single-space (between lines) format with ample spacing
throughout and 1-inch margins all around, on letter-size (8 1/2 x 11
inch) paper. Submissions deviating significantly from these guidelines
risk rejection without consideration of their merits.

*Submission Instructions:* Authors are required to submit their papers
electronically, in PDF (without security restrictions on copying or
printing). The submission server <> will be
available by early October.

Authors are encouraged to also make full versions of their submissions
freely accessible in an online repository such as the arXiv
<>, ECCC <>, or the
Cryptology ePrint archive <>. (Papers that are
not written well enough for public dissemination are probably also not
ready for submission to STOC.) It is expected that authors of accepted
papers will make their full papers, with proofs, publicly available by
the camera-ready deadline.

*Prior and Simultaneous Submissions:* The conference will follow
SIGACT's policy on prior publication and simultaneous submissions. Work
that has been previously published in another conference proceedings or
journal, or which is scheduled for publication prior to July 2017, will
not be considered for acceptance at STOC 2017. The only exception to
this policy are prior or simultaneous publications appearing in the
Science and Nature journals. SIGACT policy does not allow simultaneous
submissions of the same (or essentially the same) material to another
conference with published proceedings. The program committee may consult
with program chairs of other (past or future) conferences to find out
about closely related submissions.


*Extended Abstract Submission:* Wednesday, November 2, 2016 (11:59pm PDT).
*Notification:* by email on or before February 8, 2017.
*Deadline for accepted papers:* A camera-ready copy of each accepted
paper is required by March 16, 2017.
*STOC talks:* Monday morning June 19 to Thursday afternoon June 22, 2017
*Theory Fest activities:* Monday morning June 19 to Friday afternoon
June 23, 2017

*Presentation of Accepted Papers:* One author of each accepted paper
will be expected to present the work in the form of a talk at the
conference. In addition, one or more authors will be expected to present
the work in an evening poster session.

*Best Paper Award:* The program committee may designate up to three
papers accepted to the conference as STOC Best Papers. Every submission
is automatically eligible for this award. Rules for the award can be
found at

*Danny Lewin Best Student Paper Award:* A prize of $500 will be given to
the author(s) of the best student authored paper (or split between more
than one paper if there is a tie). A paper is eligible if all of its
authors are full-time students at the time of submission. To inform the
program committee about a paper's eligibility, check the appropriate box
in the web form on the submission server. The list of past winners can
be found at

Program Committee:

Nina Balcan (Carnegie Mellon University)
Keren Censor-Hillel (Technion)
Edith Cohen (Google and Tel Aviv University)
Artur Czumaj (University of Warwick)
Yevgeniy Dodis (New York University)
Andrew Drucker (University of Chicago)
Nick Harvey (University of British Columbia)
Monika Henzinger (University of Vienna)
Russell Impagliazzo (University of California, San Diego)
Ken-ichi Kawarabayashi (National Institute of Informatics, Tokyo)
Valerie King (chair) (University of Victoria)
Ravi Kumar (Google)
James R. Lee (University of Washington)

Katrina Ligett (California Institute of Technology and Hebrew University)
Aleksander Ma̧dry (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Cristopher Moore (Santa Fe Institute)
Jelani Nelson (Harvard University)
Christos Papadimitriou (University of California, Berkeley)
Eric Price (University of Texas, Austin)
Amit Sahai (University of California, Los Angeles)
Jared Saia (University of New Mexico)
Shubhangi Saraf (Rutgers University)
Alexander Sherstov (University of California, Los Angeles)
Mohit Singh (Microsoft Research and Georgia Institute of Technology)
Gábor Tardos (Rényi Institute, Budapest)

*General Co-Chairs:* Hamed Hatami (McGill University), Pierre McKenzie
(Université de Montréal)

The committee intends to provide registered attendees with internet
access to the Proceedings on a password-protected site that will be
available from about two weeks before the conference until the end of
the conference. Authors can opt out of this online distribution by
contacting the program committee chair by March 16.

SIGACT provides travel awards to students without available support, and
researchers from developing countries. More information on the award
process will be posted shortly.

* Contributions to be spread via DMANET are submitted to
* Replies to a message carried on DMANET should NOT be
* addressed to DMANET but to the original sender. The
* original sender, however, is invited to prepare an
* update of the replies received and to communicate it
* via DMANET.