Monday, July 27, 2015

[DMANET] Fwd: Call for nominations for the Denes Konig Prize



Dénes König Prize

The SIAM Activity Group on Discrete Mathematics (SIAG/DM) will award
the Dénes König Prize at the SIAM Conference on Discrete Mathematics
(DM16), to be held June 6-10. 2016, at Georgia State University in
Atlanta, Georgia.

The prize, established in 2007, is awarded biennially to a junior
researcher or junior researchers for outstanding research, as
determined by the prize committee, in an area of discrete mathematics,
based on a publication by the candidate(s) in English in a
peer-reviewed journal published in the three calendar years prior to
the year of the award.

The term "discrete mathematics" is used in the spirit of the SIAG/DM
website,, and includes combinatorics,
graph theory, cryptography, discrete optimization, mathematical
programming, coding theory, information theory, game theory, and
theoretical computer science.


The paper by the candidate(s) must be published in English in a
peer-reviewed journal bearing a publication date within the three
calendar years prior to the year of the award. For the 2016 award, the
eligibility period is January 1, 2013, through December 31, 2015. Each
candidate must be a PhD student or, at the time of the award, be
within four years after completing a PhD.

Description of the Award

Each awardee will receive a plaque. There will be a cash award of
$1,000, which will be shared if there are multiple recipients. At
least one of the awardees is expected to attend the award ceremony and
to present the paper at the conference. Travel funds will be made
available to reimburse one recipient for reasonable travel expenses
incurred in attending the award ceremony and presenting the paper.


Nominations should be sent to by SEPTEMBER 15,
2015. Attach a letter of nomination describing the candidate's
contributions and citing at least one paper (as described under
Eligibility). Nominations should include a CV of the candidate and
letters of support from two or three experts (but not more than three
letters). Letters should be addressed as below.

Professor Lenore Cowen, Chair

Dénes König Prize Committee

c/o J. M. Littleton


3600 Market Street

Philadelphia, PA 19104-2688



Telephone: +1-215-382-9800 ext. 303

Selection Committee

Members of the selection committee are: Lenore Cowen (Chair), Tufts
University; Michel Goemans, MIT; Daniel Kral, University of Warwick,
UK; Carla Savage, North Carolina State University; Joel Spencer,
Courant Institute, NYU.

* Contributions to be spread via DMANET are submitted to
* Replies to a message carried on DMANET should NOT be
* addressed to DMANET but to the original sender. The
* original sender, however, is invited to prepare an
* update of the replies received and to communicate it
* via DMANET.