Tuesday, June 28, 2016

[DMANET] MASSIVE 2016 Call for Papers

MASSIVE 2016 Call for Papers

The Eighth Workshop on Massive Data Algorithmics (MASSIVE 2016) will
take place on August 23, 2016 in Aarhus, Denmark as part of ALGO 2016.


The workshop has no formal proceedings, so work presented at the
workshop can also be (or have been) presented at other conferences.


Important Dates:

Submission deadlines:
- Paper submission: July 15, 2016 11:00pm GMT
- Author Notification: July 25, 2016
- Camera-ready version: August 10, 2016


Aim and scope:

Tremendous advances in our ability to acquire, store and process data,
as well as the pervasive use of computers in general, have resulted in
a spectacular increase in the amount of data being collected. This
availability of high-quality data has led to major advances in both
science and industry. In general, society is becoming increasingly
data driven, and this trend is likely to continue in the coming years.

The increasing number of applications processing massive data means
that in general focus on algorithm efficiency is increasing. However,
the large size of the data, and/or the small size of many modern
computing devices, also means that issues such as memory hierarchy
architecture often play a crucial role in algorithm efficiency. Thus
the availability of massive data also means many new challenges for
algorithm designers.

The aim of the workshop is to provide a forum for researchers from
both academia and industry interested in algorithms for massive
dataset problems. The scope of the workshop includes both fundamental
algorithmic problems involving massive data, as well as algorithms for
more specialized problems in, e.g., graphics, databases, statistics
and bioinformatics. Topics of interest include, but are not limited

- I/O-efficient algorithms
- Cache-oblivious algorithms
- Memory hierarchy efficient algorithms
- Streaming algorithms
- Sublinear algorithms
- Parallel and distributed algorithms for massive data problems
- Engineering massive data algorithms


Paper submission:

We invite submissions of extended abstracts of original research. The
submission should begin with the title of the paper, each author's
name, affiliation, and e-mail address, followed by a succinct
statement of the problems considered, the main results, an explanation
of their significance, and a comparison to past research, all of which
should be easily understood by non-specialists. More technical
developments follow as appropriate. Use 11-point or larger font in
single column format, with one-inch or wider margins all around. You
may include a clearly marked appendix, which will be read at the
discretion of the committee. The submission, excluding title page,
bibliography and appendix, must not exceed 10 pages (authors should
feel free to send submissions that are significantly shorter than 10

Extended abstract should be submitted through the EasyChair website by
July 15th. The submission page can be found at
https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=massive2016. Authors will be
notified about acceptance by July 25th. There will be no formal
proceedings, so work presented at the workshop can also be (or have
been) presented at other conferences. An informal collection of the
extended abstracts will be provided to the workshop participants. An
author of each accepted abstract is expected to give a presentation of
the abstract at the workshop.


Program committee:

Peyman Afshani (Aarhus University)
Alexandr Andoni (MIT)
Vladimir Braverman (John Hopkins University)
Raphael Clifford (Bristol University)
Graham Cormode (University of Warwick)
Jeremy Fineman (Georgetown University)
Michael Goodrich (University of California at Irvine)
John Iacono (NYU)
Riko Jacob (IT University of Copenhagen)
Paris Koutris (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Kasper Green Larsen (MADALGO, Aarhus University)
Ulrich Meyer (Goethe University)
Ian Munro (University of Waterloo)
Jelani Nelson (Harvard University)
Jeff M. Phillips (University of Utah)
Ely Porat (Bar-Ilan University)
Nodari Sitchinava (University of Hawaii)
Jeffrey Ullman (Stanford)
Norbert Zeh (Dalhousie University)
Qin Zhang (Indiana University)

Chair: Ke Yi (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)

Organizing committee:

Lars Arge (Aarhus and MADALGO)
Gerth Stølting Brodal (Aarhus and MADALGO)
Peyman Afshani (Aarhus and MADALGO)
Kasper Green Larsen (Aarhus and MADALGO)
Trine Ji Holmgaard (Aarhus and MADALGO)

* Contributions to be spread via DMANET are submitted to
* DMANET@zpr.uni-koeln.de
* Replies to a message carried on DMANET should NOT be
* addressed to DMANET but to the original sender. The
* original sender, however, is invited to prepare an
* update of the replies received and to communicate it
* via DMANET.
* http://www.zaik.uni-koeln.de/AFS/publications/dmanet/