Friday, March 18, 2022

[DMANET] MFCS 2022 - Second Call for Papers


The 47th International Symposium on Mathematical Foundations of Computer Science, August 22-26, 2022, Vienna, Austria

The MFCS conference series on Mathematical Foundations of Computer Science is a high-quality venue for original research in all branches of Theoretical Computer Science. MFCS is among the conferences with the longest history in the field - the first conference in the series was held already in 1972. Traditionally, the conference moved between the Czech Republic, Slovakia, and Poland, while since 2013, the conference has traveled around Europe.

In 2022, at its 50th anniversary, MFCS will be held in Vienna, Austria.

MFCS 2022 will be co-located with MATCH-UP 2022 (, the 6th Workshop on Matching Under Preferences.

Barring substantial and unforeseen developments, MFCS will be organized as a physical event. At least one author of each accepted paper must register at the conference. Authors who cannot physically attend the conference will be given the option to present their results via a live video talk.


Fedor V. Fomin (University of Bergen)
Monika Henzinger (University of Vienna)
Thomas Henzinger (IST Austria)
Marta Kwiatkowska (University of Oxford)
Vijay Vazirani (University of California, Irvine)


Abstract Deadline: Friday, April 22, 2022 (Anywhere on Earth)
Submission Deadline: Wednesday, April 27, 2022 (Anywhere on Earth)
Notification: Tuesday, June 21, 2022
Conference: August 22-26, 2022


Papers should be submitted electronically through EasyChair at

Submissions should be formatted using the LIPIcs style with a length not exceeding 12 pages (excluding references and an optional appendix). References and an optional appendix can go beyond the 12 pages; the appendix will be consulted at the discretion of the program committee. It is mandatory to use the LIPIcs style for submissions.

No prior publication or simultaneous submission to other conferences or journals are allowed (except preprint repositories such as arXiv or workshops without formal published proceedings).


As in previous years, MFCS 2022 proceedings will be published in LIPIcs (Leibniz International Proceedings in Informatics) under an open-access license.


We encourage submission of original research papers in all areas of theoretical computer science, including (but not limited to) the following:

- algebraic and co-algebraic methods in computer science
- algorithms and data structures
- automata and formal languages
- bioinformatics
- combinatorics on words, trees, and other structures
- computational complexity (structural and model-related)
- computational geometry
- computer-aided verification
- computer assisted reasoning
- concurrency theory
- cryptography and security
- cyber physical systems, databases and knowledge-based systems
- formal specifications and program development
- foundations of computing
- logics in computer science
- mobile computing
- models of computation
- networks
- parallel and distributed computing
- quantum computing
- semantics and verification of programs
- theoretical issues in artificial intelligence and machine learning
- types in computer science


Christoph Berkholz (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin)
René van Bevern (Huawei Technologies)
Olaf Beyersdorff (Friedrich Schiller University Jena)
Filippo Bonchi (Computer Science Department, University of Pisa)
Andrei Bulatov (Simon Fraser University)
Ugo Dal Lago (Università di Bologna and INRIA Sophia Antipolis)
Laure Daviaud (City, University of London)
Anuj Dawar (University of Cambridge)
Stefan Felsner (TU Berlin)
Celina Figueiredo (UFRJ)
Nathanaël Fijalkow (CNRS, LaBRI, University of Bordeaux)
Marie Fortin (University of Liverpool)
Robert Ganian (TU Wien, co-chair)
Petr Golovach (Department of Informatics, Bergen University)
Gregory Gutin (Royal Holloway, University of London)
Sara Kalvala (The University of Warwick)
Sandra Kiefer (RWTH Aachen University)
Eun Jung Kim (CNRS - Paris Dauphine)
Dušan Knop (Czech Technical University in Prague)
Martin Koutecky (Charles University in Prague)
Martin Lange (University of Kassel)
Massimo Lauria (Sapienza University of Rome)
Karoliina Lehtinen (University of Liverpool)
Meena Mahajan (The Institute of Mathematical Sciences, HBNI, Chennai)
Konstantinos Mamouras (Rice University)
Barnaby Martin (Durham University)
George Mertzios (Durham University)
Stefan Milius (FAU Erlangen)
Neeldhara Misra (Indian Institute of Technology, Gandhinagar)
Fabrizio Montecchiani (University of Perugia)
Sebastian Ordyniak (The University of Sheffield)
Sang-il Oum (Institute for Basic Science (IBS) and KAIST)
Daniel Paulusma (Durham University)
Daniela Petrisan (Université de Paris, IRIF)
Michał Pilipczuk (University of Warsaw)
Damien Pous (CNRS - ENS Lyon)
Simon Puglisi (University of Helsinki)
Paweł Rzążewski (Warsaw University of Technology)
Alexandra Silva (Cornell University, co-chair)
Friedrich Slivovsky (Vienna University of Technology)
Ana Sokolova (University of Salzburg)
Stefan Szeider (TU Wien, general chair)
Hellis Tamm (Tallinn University of Technology)
Florian Zuleger (TU Wien)


Jan Dreier (TU Wien)
Robert Ganian (TU Wien)
Stefan Szeider (TU Wien)
* Contributions to be spread via DMANET are submitted to
* Replies to a message carried on DMANET should NOT be
* addressed to DMANET but to the original sender. The
* original sender, however, is invited to prepare an
* update of the replies received and to communicate it
* via DMANET.