Wednesday, February 20, 2019

[DMANET] Call for Nominations: 2019 Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing


Nomination deadline: March 30, 2019

The Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing is named for
Edsger Wybe Dijkstra (1930-2002), a pioneer in the area of distributed
computing. His foundational work on concurrency primitives (such as
semaphores), concurrency problems (such as mutual exclusion and
deadlock), finding shortest paths in graphs, fault-tolerance, and
self-stabilization are important supports upon which the field of
distributed computing is built. No other individual has had a larger
influence on research in principles of distributed computing.

The prize is given for outstanding papers on the principles of
distributed computing, whose significance and impact on the theory
and/or practice of distributed computing has been evident for at least a
decade. The Prize includes an award of $2000.

The Prize is sponsored jointly by the ACM Symposium on Principles of
Distributed Computing (PODC) and the EATCS Symposium on Distributed
Computing (DISC). This award is presented annually, with the
presentation taking place alternately at ACM PODC and EATCS DISC. In
2019, it will be presented at DISC 2019. The winners of the award will
share the cash award, and each winning author will be presented with a
plaque. An announcement of each year's prize recipient(s) will be
included in the PODC and DISC proceedings of that year, describing the
paper's lasting contributions.

Nominations and Eligibility:

Nominations may be made by any member of the scientific community. Each
nomination must identify the paper being nominated and include a support
letter justifying the nomination, as well as a one-paragraph summary.
Papers appearing in any conference proceedings or journals are eligible,
as long as they have had a significant impact on research areas of
interest within the theory of distributed computing community, and as
long as the year of the original publication is at least ten years prior
to the year in which the award is given.

Papers authored or co-authored by members of the Award Committee will
not be eligible for consideration. Members of the Award Committee can
nominate papers. However, they must carefully consider nominations from
within the community. Members of the Award Committee will be especially
sensitive to conflict-of-interests issues if papers by former students
or close colleagues are nominated. (Members of the Award Committee
cannot nominate such papers themselves.)

Your nomination must be sent to the chair of the 2019 Award Committee,
Faith Ellen ( The nomination deadline is March 30,

Selection Process:

Although the Award Committee is encouraged to consult with the
distributed computing community at large, the Award Committee is solely
responsible for the selection of the winner of the award. The prize may
be shared by more than one paper. All matters relating to the selection
process that are not specified here are left to the discretion of the
Award Committee.

The list of past winners can be found at:

Award Committee for 2019:
Lorenzo Alvisi, Cornell University
Shlomi Dolev, Ben Gurion University
Faith Ellen (chair),  University of Toronto
Idit Keidar, Technion
Fabian Kuhn, University of Freiburg
Jukka Suomela, Aalto University

* Contributions to be spread via DMANET are submitted to
* Replies to a message carried on DMANET should NOT be
* addressed to DMANET but to the original sender. The
* original sender, however, is invited to prepare an
* update of the replies received and to communicate it
* via DMANET.