Wednesday, March 27, 2019

[DMANET] Inaugural FOCS Test of Time Award: Call for Nominations

The newly instated FOCS Test of Time Award recognizes papers published
at the Proceedings of the Annual IEEE Symposium on Foundations of
Computer Science. Three awards will be given in 2019, one targeted
towards papers presented at the conference in 2009, one targeted towards
papers presented at the conference in 1999, and the final one for
papers presented in 1989.
In each of these categories, it is possible to nominate papers published
in up to four conferences earlier than the targeted conference. Thus
papers published at FOCS 85-88 can compete for the award targeting the
1989 conference and similarly for the other two awards.

*Nomination Procedure.* Anyone in the Theoretical Computer Science
community may nominate at most one paper in each category. To do so,
please send nominations to : with a subject line
of FOCS Test of Time Award by April 23, 2019. The nomination should
contain an explanation of the impact of the nominated paper(s),
including references to follow-up work.

*Selection. *The winners are selected by a committee appointed by the
FOCS steering committee and for 2019 it consists of Paul Beame (U of
Washington), Allan Borodin (U of Toronto), Uri Feige (Weizmann Inst),
Monika Henzinger (U of Vienna), Johan Hastad (KTH, chair), and Mihalis
Yannakakis (Columbia U).
    In selecting the Test of Time Award, the Committee will pay
particular attention to long term impact. This impact can come in many
forms and some possibilities are to; (i) open up a new area of research;
(ii) introduce new techniques; (iii) solve a problem of lasting importance.
   The committee expects to select exactly one paper in each category,
and moreover, it expects it to be a paper from the corresponding
targeted year. However, if the committee finds that circumstances
justify this, it may select up to three papers in each category, and
include among them papers from up to four years prior to the targeted
year. The committee is free to give an award also to papers that are not

*About the Award.* This is the first FOCS Test of Time Award and it
will be an annual award. The 2019 award winners will be presented at
FOCS 2019, held in Baltimore, November 9 to 12.

* Contributions to be spread via DMANET are submitted to
* Replies to a message carried on DMANET should NOT be
* addressed to DMANET but to the original sender. The
* original sender, however, is invited to prepare an
* update of the replies received and to communicate it
* via DMANET.