Wednesday, March 13, 2019

[DMANET] 2019 MIP Workshop - Second Announcement, Poster Submission Reminder and Call for Registration

The 2019 MIP Workshop will be held on July 15-18, 2019 at MIT's Sloan
School of Management in Cambridge, Massachusetts. MIP is a single-track
workshop highlighting the latest trends in integer programming and discrete
optimization, with invited speakers covering topics of interest to the
community, including theory, computational issues and applications. As in
years past, the workshop has free registration and will include a student
poster competition.

Workshop website:

*Call for Student Poster Submissions*

The student poster session will take place during the reception on the
first evening of the workshop. We invite students to submit an abstract of
their poster to The abstract format is: a PDF
file, one letter-size page maximum, one-inch margins, 11-point font,
single-space. Only students may submit poster abstracts.

The program committee will select poster competition finalists, who as in
years past will also be eligible for travel support funds (estimated at
$500 per student). Submitting students not selected as competition
finalists may still present their poster (space permitting), but only
finalists are eligible for the competition and for travel support. Faculty
members with ongoing research support through the NSF OE program
participating in the workshop can request a travel supplement ($500) to
their grant to help support one of their students to attend the workshop.

The deadline for poster submissions is Friday, March 22, and the committee
will communicate decisions to submitting students by April 8.

*Call for Registration*

Registration is now open:

To encourage participation, especially from students and junior
researchers, registration is free.

*Confirmed Speakers*

Ahmad Abdi (CMU & LSE)
David Applegate (Google)
Timo Berthold (FICO & ZIB)
Friedrich Eisenbrand (EPFL)
Adolfo Escobedo (Arizona State)
Swati Gupta (Georgia Tech)
Robert Hildebrand (Virginia Tech)
Joey Huchette (Google & Rice)
Martin Koutecky (Technion)
Simge Küçükyavuz (Northwestern)
Cong Han Lim (Georgia Tech)
Rahul Mazumder (MIT)
Gonzalo Muñoz (Polytechnique Montréal)
Marc Pfetsch (TU Darmstadt)
Laura Sanità (Waterloo)
Emily Speakman (OVGU)
Russ Tedrake (MIT)
Stefan Weltge (TU Munich)
Weijun Xie (Virginia Tech)
Rico Zenklusen (ETH)

*Program Committee*

Daniel Dadush (CWI)
Miles Lubin (Google)
Carla Michini (Wisconsin)
Alejandro Toriello, chair (Georgia Tech)
Yuan Zhou (Kentucky)

*Local Organizing Committee*

Joey Huchette (Google & Rice)
Rahul Mazumder (MIT)
Juan Pablo Vielma, chair (MIT)

* Contributions to be spread via DMANET are submitted to
* Replies to a message carried on DMANET should NOT be
* addressed to DMANET but to the original sender. The
* original sender, however, is invited to prepare an
* update of the replies received and to communicate it
* via DMANET.