Thursday, December 10, 2015

[DMANET] CFP: IEEE SMARTCOMP 2016 | Submission Deadline Approaching (Dec 21, 2015)

Call for Papers

2nd IEEE International Conference on Smart Computing (SMARTCOMP 2016)*
"Smart Living through Computing"

May 18-20, 2016 | St. Louis, Missouri, USA

Co-Sponsored by IEEE Computer Society, IEEE St Louis section, and
Missouri University of Science and Technology

*pending IEEE approval

Smart computing is emerging as an important multidisciplinary area,
which can be broadly classified into two major topics: how to design and
build smart computing systems, and how to use computing technology for
resource sustainability to improve the human experience. Applications of
smart computing span different business areas including, but not limited
to, transportation, energy, environmental protection, resource
management, healthcare, security, banking, entertainment, and social
media. The advancement of cloud computing, mobile/pervasive computing,
cyber-physical systems, sensor networking and social computing are
bringing smart computing to a newer dimension and improving our ways of

The 2nd IEEE International Conference on Smart Computing (SMARTCOMP
2016) invites original papers on any topic that is related to smart
computing. With the theme "Smart Living through Computing", SMARTCOMP
2016 will be a forum for the presentation and exchange of cutting-edge

The topics to be addressed at SMARTCOMP 2016 will include, but are not
limited to, all aspects of smart computing such as pervasive/ubiquitous
computing, cloud computing, sensor networks, internet of things, big
data analytics, security and privacy, social computing, cognitive
computing, cyber-physical systems, smart buildings, smart cities and
grids. We encourage submissions that showcase fundamental research to
address challenges in enabling Smart and Connected Communities.
Submissions should be targeted to one of the following five major areas:

* Smart Cyber-Physical Environments and
Energy/Water/Agriculture/Transportation/Healthcare/Banking Infrastructure
* Security, Privacy, and Economics in Smart Environments
* Smart Computing Technologies
* Future Smart Computing Paradigms
* Smart Human Environments, Health, Entertainment, and Social Activities
* Smart Energy Management and Analytics

Paper submissions should be no longer than 8 pages and formatted
according to the IEEE conference template

Papers must be submitted electronically, as PDF files, through EasyChair

All submitted papers will be subject to peer reviews by Technical
Program Committee members and other experts in the field. All presented
papers will be published in the conference proceedings and submitted to
the IEEE Xplore Digital Library. Selected high-quality papers will be
invited to submit (with substantial extension) to a special issue of the
Elsevier Journal on Pervasive and Mobile Computing (SCI indexed).

SMARTCOMP 2016 will host workshops on emerging topics. To propose a
workshop, please refer to the Call for Workshop Proposals available on
the conference website, or contact the Workshops Co-chairs

* Workshop Proposals: November 15, 2015
* Notification: December 14, 2015

* Conference Paper Registration: December 14, 2015
* Conference Paper Submission: December 21, 2015
* Notification: March 21, 2016
* Camera-ready: April 15, 2016


General Co-Chairs:
Diane J. Cook, Washington State University, USA
Sajal K. Das, Missouri University of Science and Technology, USA

Technical Program Co-Chairs:
Giuseppe Anastasi, University of Pisa, Italy
Qi Han, Colorado School of Mines, USA

Workshops Co-chairs:
Jamie Payton, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, USA
Zhiwen Yu, Northwestern Polytechnic University, China

Keynote Chair:
Chenyang Lu, Washington University in St Louis, USA

Panel Chair:
Klara Nahrstedt, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA

Demo Chair:
Hassan Ghasemzadeh, Washington State University, USA

Publication Chair:
Mario Di Francesco, Aalto University, Finland

Registration and Finance Chair:
Maciej Zawodniok, Missouri University of Science and Technology, USA

Publicity Co-Chairs:
Peng Cheng, Zhejiang University, China
Tao Gu, RMIT University, Australia
Nirmalya Roy, University of Maryland – Baltimore County, USA
Marco Tiloca, Swedish Institute of Computer Science, Sweden

Local Arrangements Chair:
Prasenjit Shil, Ameren, USA

Industry Liaison Chair:
Prakash Shahi, Nidec Motor Corporation, USA

Web Chair:
Dawn Davis, Missouri University of Science and Technology, USA

Steering Committee:
Jiannong Cao, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong (Co-Chair)
Sajal K. Das, Missouri University of Science and Technology, USA (Co-Chair)
Vijayakumar Bhagavatula, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Victor Leung, The University of British Columbia, Canada
Neeraj Suri, Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany
Albert Zomaya, The University of Sydney, Australia

Conference Website:

* Contributions to be spread via DMANET are submitted to
* Replies to a message carried on DMANET should NOT be
* addressed to DMANET but to the original sender. The
* original sender, however, is invited to prepare an
* update of the replies received and to communicate it
* via DMANET.