Thursday, January 19, 2012

[DMANET] CFP - The 7th International workshop on Wireless Network Measurements (WiNMee 2012)



The 8th International Workshop on Wireless Network Measurements (WiNMee)
WiNMee 2012
To be held in conjunction with WiOpt 2012
May 18th, 2012, Paderborn, Germany


Submission deadline: January 29, 2012
Notification of acceptance: March 9, 2012
Camera-ready paper due: March 30, 2012
Workshop date: May 18, 2012

The rise in wireless technologies for both local and wide-area networking, such
as ZigBee, Wi-Fi, WiMAX, 3G and LTE, indicates that the Internet is becoming
increasingly wireless. Accurate measurements of practical wireless deployments
are vital for researchers to evaluate the real-world performance of proposed
solutions. In addition to better understanding of systems, experimental wireless
network measurements allow for better analytical and simulation models which are
often limited by simplified protocol and wireless channel models. As a
consequence, the need for experimental wireless network measurements has gained
wide recognition in the wireless networking research community. This workshop
continues the successful WiNMee series, begun at WiOpt in 2005, and is intended
to bring together researchers in the field of experimental wireless networking
and serve as a forum for discussing advances and challenges in experimental
wireless network measurements.

We seek novel papers that advance the understanding of wireless networks through
testbed measurements or field experiments. Topics of interest include, but are
not limited to the following:

- Experimentations and measurements of wireless networks:
* Experience and measurements from building, designing and/or operating
wireless networks (including location and energy consumption)
* Measurement and characterization of mobile network (e.g., traffic, usage
and mobility patterns)
* Experimental validation of network simulation and mobility models in
actual wireless environments
* Measurements-driven models and simulations of wireless networks
* Measurements-based network management and troubleshooting
* Large-scale or federated test-bed measurements
* Home networking measurements
- Techniques for wireless networks measurements:
* Techniques for improving the repeatability of tests, simplifying
experiment setup and reconfiguration
* Techniques for validating the results obtained in wireless testbeds
* Techniques for measuring heterogeneous wireless networks
* Techniques for collecting, archiving, anonymising and sharing wireless
measurement data
* Techniques and experimental results on performance measurements of
cognitive radio systems
* Software tools for building and/or managing wireless test-beds
(e.g., wireless link emulation)
* Spectrum utilization measurements techniques in spectrum sharing and
cognitive radio networks

The workshop seeks novel, previously unpublished papers, which are not currently
under review by another conference or journal. All submissions should be written
in English with a maximum paper length of six printed pages (IEEE conference
double column format, 10pt) including figures without incurring additional page
charges (maximum 1 additional page with over-length page charge if accepted).
The submitted manuscript should include a brief abstract of up to 150 words. The
submission will be handled via EDAS ( Only PDF files
are acceptable. The accepted papers will be published in the conference
proceedings and will be available via the IEEE Xplore website.

- Prof. Douglas Leath, Hamilton Institute
- Dr. Nico Bayer, Telekom Innovation Labs


Workshop Chairs:
- Keivan Navaie (University of LEEDS, UK)
- Cigdem Sengul (Telekom Innovation Labs, Germany)
- Daniele Miorandi (CREATE-NET, Italy)

Publicity Chair:
- Emilio Ancillotti (CNR, Italy)

Web Chair:
- Karina Gomez (CREATE-NET, Italy)

Technical Program Committee:
- Andrzej Duda (Grenoble Institute of Technology)
- Aruna Seneviratne (University of New South Wales)
- Ashutosh Sabharwal (Rice University)
- Christoph Lindemann (University of Leipzig)
- Christoph Mecklenbräuker (Vienna University of Technology)
- Cigdem Sengul (TU-Berlin)
- Daniele Miorandi (Create-Net)
- David Malone (NUI Maynooth)
- Djamal-Eddine Meddour (Orange Labs)
- Emilio Ancillotti (Italian National Research Council)
- Erik Nordström (Princeton University)
- Fabrizio Granelli (University of Trento)
- Georgios Paschos (CERTH - ITI, Center for Research and Technology)
- Henrik Lundgren (Technicolor)
- Iacopo Carreras (Create-Net)
- Ivan Seskar (Rutgers University)
- Kapil Dandekar (Drexel University)
- Karina Gomez (Create-Net)
- Keivan Navaie (University of Leeds)
- Laura Feeney (Swedish Institute of Computer Science)
- Marcelo Dias de Amorim (UPMC Sorbonne Universités)
- Marwan Fayed (University of Stirling)
- Navid Nikaein (Eurecom)
- Patrick Marsch (Nokia Siemens Networks)
- Ramya Raghavendra (IBM Research)
- Timo Ojala (University of Oulu)
- Wei-jen Hsu (University of Florida)

For information: