Thursday, March 12, 2015

[DMANET] 2nd CFP: FCT 2015, 20th International Symposium on Fundamentals of Computation Theory

Dear Colleagues,

We would like to encourage you to submit your contribution to
the 20th International Symposium on Fundamentals of Computation Theory
(FCT 2015), August 17-19, 2015, Gdansk, Poland.

The deadline for full paper submission is: April 25, 2015.

Please distribute this CfP among any colleagues who might be interested.

Kind regards,
Lukasz Kuszner

*** Second Call for Papers ***

FCT 2015:
20th International Symposium on
Fundamentals of Computation Theory
August 17-19, 2015
Gdansk, Poland

Submission deadline: April 25, 2015


Authors are invited to submit original research papers in all areas
related to the Foundations of Computer Science (algorithms, formal
methods, emerging fields of study).
Submissions should be made via the conference website, no later
than April 25, 2015 (anytime in the world). No simultaneous submission to
other conferences with published proceedings is allowed.

* About FCT *

FCT is a biennial series of conferences in the field of theoretical
computer science. It was established in 1977 for researchers interested in
all aspects of theoretical computer science, and in particular
algorithms, complexity, formal and logical methods.

The 20th edition of FCT will be held in Gdansk, a 1000-year old city on
the Baltic coast in northern Poland, with a medieval Old Town
picturesquely set on the banks of the Motlawa River.

The invited speakers will be:
Marek Karpinski, Peter Widmayer, and Antonin Kucera.

* Important dates *

Submission deadline: April 25, 2015
Notification to authors: June 4, 2015
Symposium: August 17-19, 2015

* Scope *

The program committee is soliciting original and significant research
contributions to the Fundamentals of Computation Theory, including (but
not limited to):

- algorithm design and optimization
- approximation, randomized, and heuristic methods
- circuits and boolean functions
- combinatorics and analysis of algorithms
- computational algebra
- computational complexity
- computational geometry
- online algorithms
- streaming algorithms
- distributed and parallel computing

Formal methods:
- algebraic and categorical methods
- automata and formal languages
- computability and nonstandard computing models
- database theory
- foundations of concurrency and distributed systems
- logics and model checking
- models of reactive, hybrid and stochastic systems
- principles of programming languages
- program analysis and transformation
- specification, refinement and verification
- security
- type systems

Emerging fields:
- ad hoc, dynamic and evolving systems
- algorithmic game theory
- computational biology
- foundations of cloud computing and ubiquitous systems
- quantum information and quantum computing

* Submission *

Papers must be submitted electronically in PDF format via EasyChair, using
the link provided on the conference website. Submissions should consist of
the following elements:
- a cover page containing: the title of the paper, the names and
affiliations of all the authors and an abstract of at least one paragraph
detailing the main contributions of the paper,
- a self-contained exposition of the contribution of the paper of at most
11 pages length (excluding the cover page and references) in A4 format,
typeset in at least 11pt font, with standard line spacing and reasonable
page margins.

* Publication *

Conference proceedings will be published in the Springer "Lecture Notes in
Computer Science" series. Selected papers will be invited to a special
issue of the journal "Discrete Mathematics & Theoretical
Computer Science", devoted to FCT'15. It is required that each accepted
paper be presented at the conference by one of its authors.

* Program Committee *

Per Austrin, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm
Christel Baier, Technische Universitat Dresden
Marcin Bienkowski, University of Wroclaw
Tomas Brazdil, Masaryk University, Brno
Luis Caires, Universidade Nova de Lisboa
Thomas Colcombet, CNRS and Universite Paris Diderot
Marek Cygan, University of Warsaw
Stephane Demri, CNRS and ENS Cachan
Dariusz Dereniowski, Gdansk University of Technology
Konstantinos Georgiou, University of Waterloo
Radu Grosu, Vienna University of Technology
Rolf Klein, University of Bonn
Barbara Konig, University of Duisburg-Essen
Adrian Kosowski, Inria and Universite Paris Diderot (co-chair)
Dan Kral, University of Warwick
Leonid Libkin, University of Edinburgh
Andrzej Murawski, University of Warwick
Jelani Nelson, Harvard University
Gennaro Parlato, University of Southampton
Andrzej Pelc, Universite du Quebec en Outaouais
Guido Proietti, University of L'Aquila
Andrzej Proskurowski, University of Oregon
Stanislaw Radziszowski, Rochester Institute of Technology
Davide Sangiorgi, Inria and University of Bologna
Thomas Sauerwald, University of Cambridge
Pawel Sobocinski, University of Southampton
Andrzej Szepietowski, University of Gdansk
Wojciech Szpankowski, Purdue University
Igor Walukiewicz, CNRS and Universite de Bordeaux (co-chair)
Pawel Zylinski, University of Gdansk

* Contributions to be spread via DMANET are submitted to
* Replies to a message carried on DMANET should NOT be
* addressed to DMANET but to the original sender. The
* original sender, however, is invited to prepare an
* update of the replies received and to communicate it
* via DMANET.