Wednesday, March 4, 2015

[DMANET] EURANDOM workshop on "Scheduling under Uncertainty"

We're proud to announce the upcoming workshop on "Scheduling under

The workshop will feature an exciting program with several top
speakers and take place at EURANDOM, Eindhoven University of
Technology, June 1-5, followed back-to-back by the 12th Workshop on
Models and Algorithms for Planning and Scheduling Problems (MAPSP
2015), which will be held in La Roche-en-Ardenne during the week of
June 8-12.

Thematic scope:

The workshop's goal is to bring together and promote the dialogue and
collaboration between researchers in two different communities: the
stochastic scheduling and networking community, and the worst-case
approximation scheduling community. Both these communities consider
mathematical and algorithmic problems motivated by resource
allocation, scheduling shared resources and load balancing, routing
and speed scaling in large-scale systems. However, the specific
problems studied and the techniques used to address them are quite
different. The workshop will bring together experts in both these
areas, and especially researchers who span both these communities, and
foster links by exploring problem areas of mutual interest and
encouraging lively interaction and discussions.
In addition to the invited speakers, we also expect a broad attendance
of local Dutch researchers and students from Europe.

5-Minute presentations:

We plan to organize a special session with 5-minute presentations. If
you're interested to give such a 5-minute presentation, then please
send an email to Nikhil Bansal at with a title and
brief abstract by April 15.


Nikhil Bansal (Eindhoven)
Sem Borst (Eindhoven)
Leen Stougie (VU & CWI Amsterdam)
Gerhard Woeginger (Eindhoven)


The workshop features keynotes/tutorials by four excellent speakers:
Prof. Kamesh Munagala (Duke)
Prof. Kirk Pruhs (U. Pittsburgh)
Prof. R. Srikant (UIUC)
Prof. Jean Walrand (Berkeley)

Additional confirmed invited speakers:
Dr. Matthew Andrews (Alcatel-Lucent)
Prof. Urtzi Ayesta (CNRS-LAAS)
Prof. Yossi Azar (Tel-Aviv)
Dr. Christoph Durr (LIP6, Paris)
Prof. Leah Epstein (Haifa)
Prof. Asaf Levin (Technion)
Prof. Nicole Megow (TU Berlin)
Prof. Rolf Moehring (TU Berlin)
Prof. Mike Pinedo (NYU)
Prof. Ramandeep Randhawa (USC)
Prof. Sasha Stolyar (LeHigh)
Prof. Marc Uetz (Twente)
Dr. Andreas Wiese (MPI Saarbruecken)
Prof. Kuang Xu (INRIA/Stanford)
Prof. Yuan Zhong (Columbia)


The workshop is financially supported by EURANDOM and NETWORKS.

Practical information and registration:

For further information, online registration and updates,
please go to
Registration is free-of-charge, but mandatory since only a limited
number of participants can be accommodated (on a First-Come
First-Served basis).
* Contributions to be spread via DMANET are submitted to
* Replies to a message carried on DMANET should NOT be
* addressed to DMANET but to the original sender. The
* original sender, however, is invited to prepare an
* update of the replies received and to communicate it
* via DMANET.