Sunday, April 15, 2018

[DMANET] Call for nominations: Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing 2019

[Apologies for duplicate postings.]

Call for Prize Nominations:
Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing 2019

Awarded by the Colloquium on Structural Information and Communication
Complexity (SIROCCO).

Deadline for nominations: April 30, 2018.

Nominations are requested for the Prize for Innovation In Distributed
Computing. This prize was established to recognize individuals whose
research contributions expanded the collective investigative horizon in
SIROCCO's area of interest. That is, they formulated new problems, or
identified new research areas, that were at the time of their introduction,
unorthodox and outside the mainstream, but later attracted the interest of
the SIROCCO community.

This community is interested in the relationships between information and
efficiency in decentralized computing. The prize recognizes originality,
innovation, and creativity -- the qualities that reflect the spirit of the
SIROCCO conference.

The winner of the Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing 2019 is
expected to give an invited talk at SIROCCO 2019. The winner of the 2018
edition of the prize (Zvi Lotker) will give a talk at SIROCCO 2018 which is
going to be held on June 18-21, Ma'ale HaHamisha, Israel.

Past prize winners are Nicola Santoro, Jean-Claude Bermond, David Peleg,
Roger Wattenhofer, Andrzej Pelc, Pierre Fraigniaud, Michel Raynal, Masafumi
Yamashita, Shmuel Zaks and Zvi Lotker.

The prize may not necessarily be awarded every year.


The following conditions must be met by the nominees to be eligible for the
prize. It is requested that a nomination letter explains and demonstrates
how the nominee matches these conditions.

(1) The original innovative contribution was introduced by the nominee(s)
for the first time in a publication at least five years before the
nomination deadline, and the publication must have appeared in a conference
proceedings or a scientific journal.

(2) At least one paper (co)authored by the nominee(s), either the original
paper, or a paper closely related to the innovative contribution, must have
appeared in a SIROCCO proceedings.

A nomination letter should identify the paper(s) that make(s) the nominee
eligible according to conditions (1) and (2) above, as well as explain the
contribution, its originality, and its significance.

Past SIROCCO papers and authors can be found at indexing sites, e.g. Google
Scholar or

Selection process

The prize winners are selected by the Award Committee composed of the
current Steering Committee (SC) Chair of the SIROCCO conference, the PC
chairs, including co-chairs, of the three SIROCCO conferences immediately
preceding the nominations deadline, plus one additional member of the
Advisory Board, or one past winner, selected by the Steering Committee for
the current year.

The Award Committee of the Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing
2019 consists of: Shantanu Das (Aix-Marseille Université), Pierre
Fraigniaud (CNRS and Paris Diderot), Andrzej Pelc - chair (Université du
Québec en Outaouais), Christian Scheideler (University of Paderborn), Jukka
Suomela (Aalto University) and Sébastien Tixeuil (Sorbonne Université).

Nominations can be made by any member of the scientific community.

DEADLINE : The deadline for nominations is April 30, 2018.
Please send the nomination to the prize committee chair, Andrzej Pelc, by

Please write SIROCCO Prize Nomination IN THE SUBJECT LINE.

Please help in recognizing the contributions of members of our community.

* Contributions to be spread via DMANET are submitted to
* Replies to a message carried on DMANET should NOT be
* addressed to DMANET but to the original sender. The
* original sender, however, is invited to prepare an
* update of the replies received and to communicate it
* via DMANET.