Monday, February 1, 2010

2010 SIGACT Distinguished Service Prize Call for Nominations

2010 SIGACT Distinguished Service Prize

Call for Nominations

The SIGACT Distinguished Service Prize is given biennially to an individual who has made substantial
service contributions to the Theoretical Computer Science community. It is presented at the ACM
Symposium on Theory of Computing, and comes with a $1,000 prize, a travel grant of up to $700 to
attend the conference, and complimentary conference registration.


The prize can be awarded to an individual for a single contribution or for a series of contributions over a
career. All living individuals are eligible with the exception of previous awardees, the sitting SIGACT
Chair (Lance Fortnow), an individual who nominated a majority of the current selection committee
members, or a member of the current selection committee. Previous awardees are:

1997 David Johnson
1998 Ian Parberry
1999 Fred Roberts
2000 S. Rao Kosaraju
2001 Mike Langston
2002 Alan Selman
2004 Rocky Ross
2006 Tom Leighton
2008 Dick Karp

Selection Committee

The winner is selected by a three‐member committee. The SIGACT chair appoints the selection
committee to serve staggered terms over three award cycles. The 2010 selection committee members
• Dick Karp
• Tom Leighton
• Rocky Ross (chair)


Nominations can be made by any member of the Theory of Computing community and should contain a
statement of no more than 500 words explaining why the candidate deserves the award. The
nomination can also include an additional separate listing of service activities. The nomination must
include the name, postal address, phone number, and e‐mail address of the nominator. Additional
support letters may be submitted, although this is not a requirement.

Nominations are to be submitted electronically in PDF format by March 1, 2010, to the chair of the
selection committee, Rocky Ross, at