Friday, April 3, 2015

[DMANET] Call for Prize Nominations: Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing 2015-2016

Awarded by the Colloquium on Structural Information and Communication
Complexity (SIROCCO).

Nominations are requested for the Prize for Innovation In Distributed Computing.
This prize was established to recognize individuals whose research contributions
expanded the collective investigative horizon in SIROCCO's area of interest.
That is, they formulated new problems, or identified new research areas, that
were at the time of their introduction, unorthodox and outside the mainstream,
but later attracted the interest of the SIROCCO community.

This community is interested in the relationships between information and
efficiency in decentralized computing. The prize recognizes originality,
innovation, and creativity -- the qualities that reflect the spirit of the
SIROCCO conference.

The winner is expected to give an invited talk at SIROCCO NEXT year (2016).
The winner chosen last year (Michel Raynal) will give a talk at sirocco in the
current year year: SIROCCO 2015 is going to be held on July 15-17,
Montserrat, Spain (a few days before PODC, also in Spain this year;
papers submission deadline is April 30th).
(Other invited speakers this current year are: Nati Linial (Keynote),
Amos Korman, Bernhard Haupler, and Sakat Navlakha).

The prize may not necessarily be awarded every year.

Past prize winners are Nicola Santoro, Jean-Claude Bermond, David Peleg,
Roger Wattenhofer, Andrzej Pelc, and Michel Raynal.


The following conditions must be met by the nominees to be eligible for the
prize. It is requested that a nomination letter explains and demonstrates how
the nominee matches these conditions.

(1) The original innovative contribution was introduced by the nominee(s) for
the first time in a publication at least five years before the
nomination deadline,
and the publication must have appeared in a conference proceedings or a
scientific journal.

(2) At least one paper (co)authored by the nominee(s), either the original
paper, or a paper very related to the innovative contribution, must have
appeared in a SIROCCO proceedings.

A nomination letter should identify the paper(s) that make(s) the nominee
eligible according to conditions (1) and (2) above, as well as explain the
contribution, its originality, and its significance.

Past SIROCCO papers and authors can be found at indexing sites, e.g. Google
Scholar or

Selection process

The prize winners are selected by the Award Committee composed of the current
Steering Committee (SC) Chair of the SIROCCO conference, the PC chairs,
including co-chairs, of the three SIROCCO conferences immediately preceding
the nominations deadline, plus one additional member of the Advisory Board, or
one past winner, selected by the Steering Committee for the current year.

In 2015, the Award Committee consists of: Guy Even (Tel Aviv University),
Magnús HalldórssonReykjavik University), Shay Kutten (Technion)- chair,
Thomas Moscibroda (Microsoft), and Andrzej Pelc (Universite du Quebec
en Outaouais).

Nominations can be made by any member of the scientific community.

Please send the nomination to the prize
committee chair, by MAY 15th, 2015.


Please help in recognizing the contributions of members of our community.

* Contributions to be spread via DMANET are submitted to
* Replies to a message carried on DMANET should NOT be
* addressed to DMANET but to the original sender. The
* original sender, however, is invited to prepare an
* update of the replies received and to communicate it
* via DMANET.