Wednesday, April 29, 2015

[DMANET] Call for Prize Nominations: Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing 2016 (Corrections, and DEADLINE MOVED to May 30th, 2015)

Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing 2016

Call for Prize Nominations

DEADLINE May 30th, 2015

Awarded by the Colloquium on Structural Information and Communication
Complexity (SIROCCO).

Nominations are requested for the Prize for Innovation In Distributed Computing.
This prize was established to recognize individuals whose research
contributions expanded the
collective investigative horizon in SIROCCO's area of interest. That
is, they formulated new problems,
or identified new research areas, that were at the time of their
introduction, unorthodox and outside the
mainstream, but later attracted the interest of the SIROCCO community.

This community is interested in the relationships between information
and efficiency in decentralized
computing. The prize recognizes originality, innovation, and
creativity -- the qualities that reflect the
spirit of the SIROCCO conference.

The winner is expected to give an invited talk at SIROCCO NEXT year.
The winner chosen last year
(Michel Raynal) will give a talk at sirocco in the current year:
SIROCCO 2015 is going to be held on
July 15-17, Montserrat, Spain (a few days before PODC, also in Spain
this year; papers submission
deadline is April 30th). (Other invited speakers this current year
are: Nati Linial (Keynote), Amos
Korman, Bernhard Haupler, and Sakat Navlakha).

The prize may not necessarily be awarded every year.

Past prize winners are Nicola Santoro, Jean-Claude Bermond, David
Peleg, Roger Wattenhofer,
Andrzej Pelc, Pierre Fraigniaud, and Michel Raynal.


The following conditions must be met by the nominees to be eligible
for the prize. It is requested
that a nomination letter explains and demonstrates how the nominee
matches these conditions.

(1) The original innovative contribution was introduced by the
nominee(s) for the first time in a
publication at least five years before the nomination deadline, and
the publication must have appeared
in a conference proceedings or a scientific journal.

(2) At least one paper (co)authored by the nominee(s), either the
original paper, or a paper very related
to the innovative contribution, must have appeared in a SIROCCO proceedings.

A nomination letter should identify the paper(s) that make(s) the
nominee eligible according to conditions
(1) and (2) above, as well as explain the contribution, its
originality, and its significance.

Past SIROCCO papers and authors can be found at indexing sites, e.g. Google
Scholar or

Selection process

The prize winners are selected by the Award Committee composed of the
current Steering Committee (SC)
Chair of the SIROCCO conference, the PC chairs, including co-chairs,
of the three SIROCCO conferences
immediately preceding the nominations deadline, plus one additional
member of the Advisory Board,
or one past winner, selected by the Steering Committee for the current year.

In 2015, the Award Committee consists of: Guy Even (Tel Aviv
University), Magnús HalldórssonReykjavik
University), Shay Kutten (Technion)- chair, Thomas Moscibroda
(Microsoft), and Andrzej Pelc
(Universite du Quebec en Outaouais).

Nominations can be made by any member of the scientific community.

DEADLINE : Please send the nomination to the prize committee chair, by MAY 15th, 2015.
(Please note: May 2015, we select this year the winner of next year).


Please help in recognizing the contributions of members of our community.

* Contributions to be spread via DMANET are submitted to
* Replies to a message carried on DMANET should NOT be
* addressed to DMANET but to the original sender. The
* original sender, however, is invited to prepare an
* update of the replies received and to communicate it
* via DMANET.