Tuesday, April 4, 2017

[DMANET] Call for Nominations: Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing 2018 (SIROCCO Award)

Please note that the deadline for nominations to the Prize for
Innovation in Distributed Computing 2018 (SIROCCO award) is 30 April
2017. See details below for submitting nominations:


Call for Prize Nominations:
Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing 2018

Awarded by the Colloquium on Structural Information and Communication
Complexity (SIROCCO).

Deadline for nominations: April 30, 2017.

Nominations are requested for the Prize for Innovation In Distributed
Computing. This prize was established to recognize individuals whose
research contributions expanded the collective investigative horizon in
SIROCCO's area of interest. That is, they formulated new problems, or
identified new research areas, that were at the time of their
introduction, unorthodox and outside the mainstream, but later attracted
the interest of the SIROCCO community.

This community is interested in the relationships between information
and efficiency in decentralized computing. The prize recognizes
originality, innovation, and creativity -- the qualities that reflect
the spirit of the SIROCCO conference.

The winner of the Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing 2018 is
expected to give an invited talk at SIROCCO 2018. The winner of the 2017
edition of the prize (Shmuel Zaks) will give a talk at SIROCCO
2017 which is going to be held on June 19-22, Porquerolles, France.

Past prize winners are Nicola Santoro, Jean-Claude Bermond, David Peleg,
Roger Wattenhofer, Andrzej Pelc, Pierre Fraigniaud, Michel Raynal,
Masafumi Yamashita, and Shmuel Zaks.

The prize may not necessarily be awarded every year.


The following conditions must be met by the nominees to be eligible for
the prize. It is requested that a nomination letter explains and
demonstrates how the nominee matches these conditions.

(1) The original innovative contribution was introduced by the
nominee(s) for the first time in a publication at least five years
before the nomination deadline, and the publication must have appeared
in a conference proceedings or a scientific journal.

(2) At least one paper (co)authored by the nominee(s), either the
original paper, or a paper closely related to the innovative
contribution, must have appeared in a SIROCCO proceedings.

A nomination letter should identify the paper(s) that make(s) the
nominee eligible according to conditions (1) and (2) above, as well as
explain the contribution, its originality, and its significance.

Past SIROCCO papers and authors can be found at indexing sites, e.g. Google
Scholar or

Selection process

The prize winners are selected by the Award Committee composed of the
current Steering Committee (SC) Chair of the SIROCCO conference, the PC
chairs, including co-chairs, of the three SIROCCO conferences
immediately preceding the nominations deadline, plus one additional
member of the Advisory Board, or one past winner, selected by the
Steering Committee for the current year.

The Award Committee of the Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing
2018 consists of: Magnús Halldórsson (Reykjavik University),
Andrzej Pelc - chair (Université du Québec en Outaouais), Christian
Scheideler (University of Paderborn), Paul Spirakis (University of
Jukka Suomela (Aalto University).

Nominations can be made by any member of the scientific community.

DEADLINE : The deadline for nominations is April 30, 2017.
Please send the nomination to the prize committee chair, Andrzej Pelc,
by e-mail pelc@uqo.ca

Please write SIROCCO Prize Nomination IN THE SUBJECT LINE.

Please help in recognizing the contributions of members of our community.

* Contributions to be spread via DMANET are submitted to
* DMANET@zpr.uni-koeln.de
* Replies to a message carried on DMANET should NOT be
* addressed to DMANET but to the original sender. The
* original sender, however, is invited to prepare an
* update of the replies received and to communicate it
* via DMANET.
* http://www.zaik.uni-koeln.de/AFS/publications/dmanet/