Friday, April 14, 2017

[DMANET] Fundamentals of Computation Theory (FCT 2017) – 2nd CFP


*** Second Call for Papers ***

FCT 2017

21st International Symposium on
Fundamentals of Computation Theory

September 11-13, 2017
Bordeaux, France


*** The submission server at
*** is now open.


Authors are invited to submit original research papers in all areas
related to the Foundations of Computer Science (algorithms, formal
methods, emerging fields of study).


Abstract Registration: May 1, 2017 (AoE)
Paper Submission: May 6, 2017 (AoE)
Notification to authors: June 16, 2017
Camera-ready submission: June 28, 2017
Symposium: September 11-13, 2017


The Symposium on Fundamentals of Computation Theory (FCT) was
established in
1977 for researchers interested in all aspects of theoretical computer
and in particular algorithms, complexity, formal and logical methods.
FCT is a
biennial conference. The last preceding Symposia were held in Gdansk,
Oslo, Wrocław, Budapest, Lübeck.

FCT 2017 will take place in Bordeaux, which is located in the South
West of France.
The region is famous for its wines and its gastronomy. The city centre
of Bordeaux
is classified at the Unesco World Heritage.


There will be four invited talks at FCT 2017. The invited speakers are:
Thomas Colcombet, Martin Dietzfelbinger, Juraj Hromkovic and Anca

There will also be one invited talk in memoriam of Zoltan Esik given by
Jean-Eric Pin.


The program committee is soliciting original and significant research
contributions to the Fundamentals of Computation Theory, including (but
not limited to):


- algorithm design and optimization
- approximation, randomized, and heuristic methods
- circuits and boolean functions
- combinatorics and analysis of algorithms
- computational algebra
- computational and parameterized complexity
- computational geometry
- distributed and parallel computing
- online algorithms
- streaming algorithms

Formal methods:

- algebraic and categorical methods
- automata and formal languages
- computability and nonstandard computing models
- database theory
- foundations of concurrency and distributed systems
- logic and model checking
- models of reactive, hybrid and stochastic systems
- principles of programming languages
- program analysis and transformation
- security
- specification, refinement and verification
- type systems

Emerging fields:

- ad hoc, dynamic and evolving systems
- algorithmic game theory
- computational biology
- foundations of cloud computing and ubiquitous systems
- quantum information and quantum computing


Conference proceedings will be published in the ARCoSS subline of the
Springer "Lecture Notes in Computer Science" series.


Selected papers will be invited to a special issue of the "Journal of
Computer and System Sciences", devoted to FCT 2017.


Awards will be given to the best paper and the best student paper. To be
eligible for the best student paper award, at least one of the paper
must be a full-time student at the time of submission, and the student(s)
must have made a significant contribution to the paper.


Authors are invited to submit high-quality manuscripts reporting original
unpublished research in the topics related to the symposium. Simultaneous
submission to other conferences or workshops with published proceedings
is not allowed. It is required that each accepted paper be presented at
the conference by one of its authors.

Submissions must not exceed 12 pages formatted according to LNCS
style plus an optional, clearly marked appendix of reasonable length
(to be read at the program committee's discretion). The first page
must include an indication of whether the paper is eligible for the
best student paper award.

The submission system can be accessed via


Parosh Aziz Abdulla (Uppsala University, Sweden)
Petra Berenbrink (Universität Hamburg, Germany)
Nathalie Bertrand (Inria Rennes, France)
Benedikt Bollig (CNRS & ENS Cachan, France)
Patricia Bouyer (CNRS & ENS Cachan, France)
Véronique Bruyère (University of Mons, Belgium)
Arnaud Casteigts (University of Bordeaux, France)
Hubie Chen (Universidad del País Vasco and
Colin Cooper (King's College London, UK)
Kevin P. Costello (University of California at Riverside, USA)
Jurek Czyzowicz (Université du Quebec en Outaouais, Canada)
Martin Dietzfelbinger (Technische Universität Ilmenau, Germany)
Robert Elsässer (University of Salzburg, Austria)
Thomas Erlebach (University of Leicester, UK)
Paola Flocchini (University of Ottawa, Canada)
Pierre Fraigniaud (CNRS and University Paris Diderot, France)
Luisa Gargano (Università di Salerno, Italy)
Sun-Yuan Hsieh (National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan)
Stefan Kiefer (University of Oxford, UK)
Ralf Klasing (co-Chair) (CNRS and University of Bordeaux, France)
Dieter Kratsch (Université de Lorraine - Metz, France)
Manfred Kufleitner (University of Stuttgart, Germany)
Fabian Kuhn (University of Freiburg, Germany)
Thierry Lecroq (University of Rouen, France)
Jérôme Leroux (Bordeaux University, France)
Leo Liberti (LIX, Ecole Polytechnique, France)
Markus Lohrey (University of Siegen, Germany)
Frédéric Magniez (CNRS and University Paris Diderot, France)
Wim Martens (Universität Bayreuth, Germany)
Pierre McKenzie (Universite de Montreal, Canada)
Madhavan Mukund (Chennai Mathematical Institute, India)
Nicolas Nisse (Université Côte d'Azur, Inria, CNRS,
I3S, France)
Vangelis Th. Paschos (University Paris-Dauphine, France)
Joseph G. Peters (Simon Fraser University, Canada)
Guido Proietti (University of L'Aquila, Italy)
Tomasz Radzik (King's College London, UK)
R. Ramanujam (Institute of Mathematical Sciences,
Chennai, India)
Jean-François Raskin (Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium)
José Rolim (University of Geneva, Switzerland)
Sylvain Salvati (University of Lille, France)
Maria José Serna Iglesias (Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain)
Jean-Marc Talbot (Aix-Marseille University, France)
Laurent Viennot (Inria Rocquencourt, France)
Gerhard Woeginger (Aachen University, Germany)
Marc Zeitoun (co-Chair) (University of Bordeaux, France)


Bogdan Chlebus (University of Colorado, USA)
Marek Karpinski (chair) (University of Bonn, Germany)
Andrzej Lingas (Lund University, Sweden)
Miklos Santha (CNRS and University Paris Diderot, France)
Eli Upfal (Brown University, USA)


Arnaud Casteigts (co-Chair) (University of Bordeaux, France)
Ralf Klasing (co-Chair) (CNRS and University of Bordeaux, France)
Sofian Maabout (University of Bordeaux, France)
Yessin M. Neggaz (University of Bordeaux, France)
Marc Zeitoun (University of Bordeaux, France)
Akka Zemmari (University of Bordeaux, France)


For further information, please send an e-mail to

* Contributions to be spread via DMANET are submitted to
* Replies to a message carried on DMANET should NOT be
* addressed to DMANET but to the original sender. The
* original sender, however, is invited to prepare an
* update of the replies received and to communicate it
* via DMANET.