Thursday, November 12, 2009

ACM Award Nominations - Deadline - Nov. 30

Just a reminder – the deadline for the majority of ACM's 2009 awards is November 30, 2009 (the exceptions are listed below).






As part of its mission, ACM brings broad recognition to outstanding technical and professional achievements within the computing and information technology community.  Each year our award committees evaluate the contributions of candidates for various awards that span a spectrum of professional and technological accomplishments. 


Nominations by ACM members of those who deserve recognition for their contributions to the field of computing are welcomed. 


The deadline for the following ACM awards is November 30, 2009:


A.M. Turing Award:

            ACM – Infosys Foundation Award:

            Distinguished Service Award:

            Doctoral Dissertation Award:

            Grace Murray Hopper Award:

            Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award:

            Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award:

            Eugene L. Lawler Award for Humanitarian Contributions within Computer Science and Informatics:

   - Biennial

            Outstanding Contribution to ACM Award:

            ACM – AAAI Allen Newell Award:

            Software System Award:

            ACM Senior Members:


For information on SIG Awards please see


Here are the exceptions to the November 30th deadline.

            ACM-W Athena Lecturer Award – Feb. 1, 2010:                                       


                        ACM – IEEE CS Eckert-Mauchly Award - March 1, 2010  

                        ACM-IEEE CS Ken Kennedy Award - July 1, 2010:

                        ACM Distinguished Member - July 31, 2010:

                        ACM Fellows  - September 1, 2010

                        Please see Jim Horning's "Making the case for an ACM Fellow:"

                        ACM Doctoral Dissertation Award - October 30, 2010

                        ACM Gordon Bell Prize – TBA:


Please refer to the ACM Awards page,, for:

  • award descriptions, and lists containing the names of the previous ACM Award winners and their citations,
  • nomination procedures for the 2009 awards, including the membership of the 2009 Award Committees, and contact information for the chairs


Thank you.


C.C. Gotlieb, ACM Awards Committee Co-chair (

J.J. Horning, ACM Awards Committee Co-chair (


SGB Awards Committee Liaison:  Robert A. Walker (


Rosemary McGuinness, ACM Awards Committee Liaison (