Sunday, March 28, 2021

[DMANET] FCT 2021 - Call for Papers

FCT 2021 - Call for Papers
23rd International Symposium on Fundamentals of Computation Theory
September 12-15, 2021, Athens, Greece
Submission deadline: May 16, 2021

About FCT
The Symposium on Fundamentals of Computation Theory (FCT) was established
in 1977 as a forum for researchers interested in all aspects of theoretical
computer science, and in particular algorithms, complexity, formal and
logical methods. FCT is a biennial series of conferences, previously held
in Poland, Germany, Hungary, Sweden, Russia, Romania, Latvia, Norway,
United Kingdom, France, and Denmark. The last five Symposia were held in
Oslo (2011), Liverpool (2013), Gdansk (2015), Bordeaux (2017), and
Copenhagen (2019).

FCT 2021 will be hosted by the National Technical University of Athens
partially or completely online, depending on the status of the COVID-19

Important Dates
Abstract registration: May 9, 2021 (AoE)
Full paper submission: May 16, 2021 (AoE)
Notification to authors: June 28, 2021
Camera-ready submission: July 6, 2021
Symposium: September 12-15, 2021

The program committee is soliciting original and significant research
contributions to the fundamentals of computation theory, including (but not
limited to):


algorithm design and optimization
data structures
combinatorics and analysis of algorithms
randomized algorithms
approximation algorithms
parameterized and exact algorithms
computational algebra and number theory
computational geometry
parallel algorithms
distributed algorithms and protocols
online algorithms
streaming algorithms
algorithmic game theory
computational foundations of machine learning
computational biology


models of computation
computational complexity
Boolean/algebraic circuits and functions
randomized computation
interactive proofs
computational foundations of cryptography
quantum computation
complexity theory
lower bounds
counting complexity

Formal methods

algebraic and categorical methods
automata and formal languages
database theory
foundations of concurrency and distributed systems
logic and model checking
models of reactive, hybrid, and stochastic systems
principles of programming languages
program analysis and transformation
specification, refinement, and verification
type systems
ad hoc, dynamic, and evolving systems
foundations of cloud computing and ubiquitous systems

Invited Speakers
Constantinos Daskalakis, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Claire Mathieu, CNRS and University of Paris
Nobuko Yoshida, Imperial College London

Conference proceedings will be published in the ARCoSS subline of the
Springer "Lecture Notes in Computer Science" series.

Special Issue
Selected papers will be invited to a special issue of the "Journal of
Computer and System Sciences", devoted to FCT 2021.

Awards will be given to the best paper and the best student paper. To be
eligible for the best student paper award, at least one of the paper
authors must be a full-time student at the time of submission, and the
student(s) must have made a significant contribution to the paper.

Program Committee
Evripidis Bampis (co-chair), Sorbonne University
Petra Berenbrink, University of Hamburg
Arnaud Casteigts, University of Bordeaux
Marek Chrobak, UC Riverside
Hans van Ditmarsch, CNRS and University of Lorraine
Thomas Erlebach, University of Leicester
Bruno Escoffier, Sorbonne University
Henning Fernau, University of Trier
Dimitris Fotakis, National Technical University of Athens
Pierre Fraigniaud, CNRS and University of Paris
Leszek Gasieniec, University of Liverpool and Augusta University
Laurent Gourves, CNRS and University of Paris-Dauphine
Giuseppe F. Italiano, LUISS Guido Carli University
Ralf Klasing, CNRS and University of Bordeaux
Alexander Kononov, Sobolev Institute of Mathematics and Novosibirsk
State University
Antonin Kucera, Masaryk University
Dietrich Kuske, TU Ilmenau
Nikos Leonardos, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens
Minming Li, City University of Hong Kong
Zsuzsanna Liptak, University of Verona
Giorgio Lucarelli, University of Lorraine
Vangelis Markakis, Athens University of Economics and Business
Nicole Megow, University of Bremen
Andrzej Murawski, University of Oxford
Aris Pagourtzis (co-chair), National Technical University of Athens
Charis Papadopoulos, University of Ioannina
Igor Potapov, University of Liverpool
Tomasz Radzik, King's College London
Maria Serna, Technical University of Catalonia
Hadas Shachnai, Technion
Vorapong Suppakitpaisarn, University of Tokyo
Nikos Tzevelekos, Queen Mary University of London
Guochuan Zhang, Zhejiang University

Steering Committee
Bogdan Chlebus, University of Colorado
Marek Karpinski (chair), University of Bonn
Andrzej Lingas, Lund University
Miklos Santha, CNRS and University Paris Diderot
Eli Upfal, Brown University

Organizing Committee
Aris Pagourtzis (co-chair), National Technical University of Athens
Dimitris Fotakis (co-chair), National Technical University of Athens

Authors are invited to submit high-quality manuscripts reporting original
unpublished research in the topics related to the symposium. Simultaneous
submission to other conferences or workshops with published proceedings is
not allowed. It is required that each accepted paper be presented at the
conference by one of its authors.

Submissions must not exceed 12 pages (excluding references), formatted
according to LNCS LaTeX template and style files, plus an optional, clearly
marked appendix of reasonable length (to be read at the program committee's
discretion). The first page must include an indication of whether the paper
is eligible for the best student paper award.

Papers are to be submitted electronically through EasyChair at the
following link:

For further information, please send an e-mail to fct2021_at_corelab_ntua_gr


* Contributions to be spread via DMANET are submitted to
* Replies to a message carried on DMANET should NOT be
* addressed to DMANET but to the original sender. The
* original sender, however, is invited to prepare an
* update of the replies received and to communicate it
* via DMANET.