Tuesday, March 8, 2016

[DMANET] Call for Nominations for SIGACT Distinguished Service Prize: Deadline April 1, 2016

Call for Nominations: 2016 SIGACT Distinguished Service Prize

The theory community benefits in many ways from the dedicated service, above and beyond the call of duty, of many of its members. Among other contributions, the field's members underpin the operation of conferences, journals, prizes, funding agencies, and other community activities, help ensure funding for the field, and promote the recognition of the field by external communities. The SIGACT Distinguished Service Prize is intended to recognize and promote their contributions, as well as to raise awareness of the need for and importance of such service, for the health of our community.

This prize is given annually to an individual who has made substantial service contributions to the Theoretical Computer Science community. (From 2002 to 2012, the award was given biennially.) It is presented at the ACM Symposium on Theory of Computing <http://acm-stoc.org/>, and comes with a $1,000 prize, a travel grant of up to $700 to attend the conference, and complimentary conference registration.

The prize can be awarded to an individual for a single contribution or for a series of contributions over a career. All living individuals are eligible with the exception of previous awardees, the sitting SIGACT Chair, an individual who nominated a majority of the current selection committee members, or a member of the current selection committee.
Selection Committee

The winner is selected by a three-member committee. The SIGACT chair appoints the selection committee to serve staggered terms over three award cycles. The 2016 selection committee members are Lance Fortnow, Lane A. Hemaspaandra (chair), and Avi Wigderson.

Nominations can be made by any member of the Theory of Computing community and should contain a statement of no more than 500 words explaining why the candidate deserves the award. The nomination can also include an additional separate listing of service activities, additional support letters, and other supplemental material such as a pointer to the candidate's CV. The nomination must include the name, postal address, phone number, and e-mail address of the nominator. Nominations are to be submitted electronically in PDF format by April 1, 2016, to the chair of the selection committee, Lane A. Hemaspaandra, at lane@cs.rochester.edu <mailto:lane@cs.rochester.edu>. Please put "SIGACT Distinguished Service Award Nomination" in the subject line.
Past Winners

201 <http://www.sigact.org/Prizes/Service/2015.html>5 <http://www.sigact.org/Prizes/Service/2015.html>: Avi Wigderson
2014 <http://www.sigact.org/Prizes/Service/2014.html>: Lance Fortnow
2013 <http://www.sigact.org/Prizes/Service/2013.html>: Lane Hemaspaandra
2012 <http://www.sigact.org/Prizes/Service/2012.html>: Sampath Kannan
2010 <http://www.sigact.org/Prizes/Service/2010.html>: Hal Gabow
2008 <http://www.sigact.org/Prizes/Service/2008.html>: Richard Karp
2006 <http://www.sigact.org/Prizes/Service/2006.html>: Tom Leighton
2004 <http://www.sigact.org/Prizes/Service/2004.html>: Rockford J. Ross
2002 <http://www.sigact.org/Prizes/Service/2002.html>: Alan Selman
2001 <http://www.sigact.org/Prizes/Service/2001.html>: Michael Langston
2000 <http://www.sigact.org/Prizes/Service/2000.html>: S. Rao Kosaraju
1999 <http://www.sigact.org/Prizes/Service/1999.html>: Fred S. Roberts
1998 <http://www.sigact.org/Prizes/Service/1998.html>: Ian Parberry
1997 <http://www.sigact.org/Prizes/Service/1997.html>: David S. Johnson

* Contributions to be spread via DMANET are submitted to
* DMANET@zpr.uni-koeln.de
* Replies to a message carried on DMANET should NOT be
* addressed to DMANET but to the original sender. The
* original sender, however, is invited to prepare an
* update of the replies received and to communicate it
* via DMANET.
* http://www.zaik.uni-koeln.de/AFS/publications/dmanet/