Monday, March 11, 2013

Dijkstra Prize: Call for Nominations

(apologies for multiple mailings)


Call for Nominations:


The 2013 Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing

For details see


          Nominations deadline: June 1, 2013.


The Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing is named for

Edsger Wybe Dijkstra (1930-2002), a pioneer in the area of

distributed computing. His foundational work on concurrency,

semaphores, mutual exclusion, deadlock, finding shortest paths in

graphs, fault-tolerance, self-stabilization, among many other

contributions comprises one of the most important supports upon

which the field of distributed computing is built. No other

individual has had a larger influence on research in principles of

distributed computing.


The prize is given for outstanding papers on the principles of

distributed computing, whose significance and impact on the theory

and/or practice of distributed computing has been evident for at

least a decade. The Prize includes an award of $2000.


The Prize is sponsored jointly by the ACM Symposium on Principles of

Distributed Computing (PODC) and the EATCS Symposium on Distributed

Computing (DISC). This award is presented annually, with the

presentation taking place alternately at ACM PODC and EATCS DISC -

this year it will be presented at DISC 2013. The winners of the

award will share the cash award, and each winning author will be

presented with a plaque. An announcement of each year's prize

recipient(s) will be included in the ACM PODC or EATCS DISC

proceedings of that year, describing the paper's lasting contributions.


Nominations and Eligibility


Nominations may be made by any member of the scientific community.

Each nomination must identify the paper being nominated and include

a short paragraph (approximately 200 words) justifying the

nomination. Papers appearing in any conference proceedings or

journal are eligible, as long as they have had a significant impact

on research areas of interest within the theory of distributed

computing community, and as long as the year of the original

publication is at least ten years prior to the year in which the

award is given.


Papers authored or co-authored by members of the Prize Committee

will not be eligible for consideration.


Please send your nomination to the Chair of the Prize Committee,

Gadi Taubenfeld (tgadi[AT] Please mind that the

nominations deadline is June 1, 2013.


Selection Process


Although the Award Committee is encouraged to consult with the

distributed computing community at large, the Award Committee is

solely responsible for the selection of the winner of the award. The

prize may be shared by more than one paper.  All matters relating to

the selection process that are not specified here are left to the

discretion of the Prize Committee.


Prize Committee 2013


Yehuda Afek                    Tel-Aviv Univ.

Faith Ellen                         Univ. of Toronto

Boaz Patt-Shamir            Tel-Aviv Univ.

Sergio Rajsbaum             UNAM

Alexander Shvartsman   Univ. of Connecticut

Gadi Taubenfeld, Chair  IDC