Thursday, March 28, 2013

[DMANET] 2nd CfP SIROCCO 2013, 20th International Colloquium on Structural Information and Communication Complexity

We apologize if you receive multiple copies of this message.


20th International Colloquium on Structural Information and
Communication Complexity

July 1-3, 2013
Ischia, Italy
Deadline for submissions: April 21, 2013

SIROCCO is devoted to the study of communication and knowledge in
multi-processor systems from both the qualitative and quantitative
viewpoints. Special emphasis is given to innovative approaches and
fundamental understanding, in addition to efforts to optimize current
designs. SIROCCO has a tradition of interesting and productive
scientific meetings in a relaxed and pleasant atmosphere, attracting
leading researchers in a variety of fields in which communication and
knowledge play a significant role. This year, SIROCCO is held in
Ischia, a beautiful island in Italy, not far from Napoli.

SCOPE: Original papers are solicited from all areas of study of local
structural knowledge and global communication and computational
complexities. Among the typical areas are distributed computing,
communication networks, game theory, parallel computing, social
networks, mobile computing (including autonomous robots), peer to peer
systems, communication complexity, fault tolerant graph theories, and
randomized/probabilistic issues in networks. Keeping up with the
tradition of SIROCCO, new areas are always welcome.

SIROCCO AWARD: The Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing is
awarded annually in the SIROCCO conference to recognize individuals
whose research contributions had a major impact on the understanding
of the relationships between information and efficiency in
decentralized computing. The contribution (or a related contribution)
should have been either made or demonstrated, by the author in a paper
that appeared in SIROCCO in the past. Moreover, the author should have
made the contribution in at least one paper that appeared (in either a
scientific journal or the proceedings of a scientific conference) at
least 5 years ago. More details are available in the SIROCCO 2013 web

BEST STUDENT PAPER: A Best Student Paper Award will be awarded to a
paper coauthored by one or more full-time students at the time of
submission. The program committee may decline to make this awards or
split it.

SUBMISSION: Papers are to be submitted electronically (through
EasyChair). Submission instructions and guidelines are available at
the conference web page. Authors are invited to submit their work in
one of the three acceptable formats: novel research contributions,
position papers, and surveys. Original research papers must contain
results that have not previously appeared and have not been
concurrently submitted to a journal or conference with published
proceedings. In all cases, any partial overlap with any published or
concurrently submitted paper must be clearly indicated. Submissions
are limited to 12 single-column pages on letter/A4-size paper (using
at least 11 point font, 1 inch margins, standard line spacing). This
includes figures, but excludes references and an optional appendix (to
be read at the program committee's discretion).

PUBLICATION: As in previous years, the proceedings of SIROCCO 2013 are
planned to be published by Springer-Verlag as a volume of the LNCS
series. Selected papers are planned to be invited to a special issue
of the journal Theoretical Computer Science.

- Paper submission due: April 21, 2013, 2013, 23:59, Hawaii
time (time zone HAST).
- Notification of acceptance: May 22, 2013
- Conference dates: July 1-3, 2013

Ittai Abraham MSR Silicon Valley
Chen Avin Ben Gurion University
Keren Censor-Hillel Technion
Wei Chen MSR Asia
Ajoy Datta University of Nevada
Gabriele di Stefano University of L'Aquila
Yuval Emek ETH Zurich
Qiang-Sheng Hua Tsinghua University
David Ilcinkas Universit´e Bordeaux
Toshimitsu Masuzawa Osaka University
Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide Paderborn
Thomas Moscibroda (Chair) MSR Asia
Calvin Newport Georgetown University
Adele Rescigno Università di Salerno
Nicola Santoro Carleton University
Ulrich Schmid TU Vienna
Siddhartha Sen Princeton
Jukka Suomela University of Helsinki
Subash Suri UC Santa Barbara

Luisa Gargano Università di Salerno
Adele Rescigno (Chair) Università di Salerno
Ugo Vaccaro Università di Salerno

Yang Chen (Submissions) MSR Asia
Gennaro Cordasco (Publicity) Seconda Univ. di Napoli

Boaz Patt-Shamir Tel-Aviv University
Shay Kutten (Chair) Technion
Ralf Klasing Universit´e Bordeaux
Guy Even Tel-Aviv University
Masafumi Yamashita Kyushu University

If you experience any problems with the website, please visit the
resume page, available at



Kind Regards,

Gennaro Cordasco
Seconda Universita' degli Studi di Napoli
Viale Ellittico, 81100 Caserta ITALY
e-mail: gennaro.cordasco[@]
* Contributions to be spread via DMANET are submitted to
* Replies to a message carried on DMANET should NOT be
* addressed to DMANET but to the original sender. The
* original sender, however, is invited to prepare an
* update of the replies received and to communicate it
* via DMANET.