Wednesday, March 13, 2013

[DMANET] MFCS 2013 - Call For Papers

[We apologize for multiple copies.]


MFCS 2013 - Call for Papers

38th International Symposium on Mathematical Foundations of Computer Science

August 26 - 30, 2013, IST Austria, Klosterneuburg, Austria



The series of MFCS symposia, organized since 1972, has a long and
well-established tradition. The MFCS symposia encourage high-quality
research in all branches of theoretical computer science. Their broad
scope provides an opportunity to bring together researchers who do not
usually meet at specialized conferences. Quality papers presenting
original research on theoretical aspects of computer science are solicited.


Principal topics of interest include (but are not limited to):
- algorithmic game theory,
- algorithmic learning theory,
- algorithms and data structures (incl. sequential, parallel,
distributed, approximation, graph, network, on-line, parameterized,
- automata, grammars and formal languages,
- bioinformatics,
- complexity (structural and computational),
- computational geometry,
- computer-assisted reasoning,
- concurrency theory,
- cryptography and security,
- databases and knowledge-based systems,
- formal specifications and program development,
- foundations of computing,
- logic in computer science,
- mobile computing,
- models of computation,
- networks (incl. wireless, sensor, ad-hoc),
- parallel and distributed computing,
- quantum computing,
- semantics and verification of programs,
- theoretical issues in artificial intelligence


- Sam Buss (UC San Diego)
- Martin Grohe (Humboldt U. Berlin, RWTH Aachen U)
- Leah Epstein (U. Haifa)
- Elias Koutsoupias (U. Athens)
- Jean Goubault-Larrecq (LSV, CNRS & ENS de Cachan)
- Nir Piterman (U. Leicester)


- Jiri Sgall (Charles U., Czech Republic)
- Krishnendu Chatterjee (IST Austria, Austria)


- Parosh Abdulla (Uppsala U., Sweden)
- Eli Ben-Sasson (Technion, Israel)
- Nathalie Bertrand (INRIA Rennes, France)
- Markus Blaser (U. des Saarlandes, Germany)
- Tomas Brazdil (Masaryk U., Czech Republic)
- Ioannis Caragiannis (U. Patras, Greece)
- Krishnendu Chatterjee (IST Austria, Austria - Chair)
- Thomas Colcombet (LIAFA-CNRS, France)
- Anuj Dawar (U. Cambridge, UK)
- Giorgio Delzanno (U. Genova, Italy)
- Martin Dietzfelbinger (TU Ilmenau, Germany)
- Krzysztof Diks (U. Warsaw, Poland)
- Zoltan Esik (U. Szeged, Hungary)
- Sandor Fekete (TU Braunschweig, Germany)
- Eldar Fischer (Technion, Israel)
- Dmitry Gavinsky (NEC Labs, Princeton, USA)
- Andrew Goldberg (Microsoft Research, USA)
- Kristoffer Arnsfelt Hansen (Aarhus U., Denmark)
- Tao Jiang (UC Riverside, USA)
- Barbara Konig (U. Duisburg-Essen (UDE), Germany)
- Pascal Koiran (Ecole Normale Supérieure de Lyon, France)
- Rastislav Kralovic (Comenius U., Slovakia)
- Erik Jan van Leeuwen (MPI, Saarbrücken, Germany)
- Stefano Leonardi (Sapienza U. Rome, Italy)
- Christof Loding (RWTH Aachen U., Germany)
- Zvi Lotker (Ben Gurion U., Israel)
- Jerzy Marcinkowski (U.Wrocław, Poland)
- Daniel Marx (Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Hungary)
- Peter Bro Miltersen (Aarhus U., Denmark)
- Madhavan Mukund (CMI, India)
- Rasmus Pagh (IT U. Copenhagen, Denmark)
- Madhusudan Parthasarathy (UI Urbana-Champaign, USA)
- Daniel Paulusma (Durham U., UK)
- Holger Petersen (msg systems ag, Germany)
- Alex Rabinovich (Tel Aviv U., Israel)
- Rahul Santhanam (U. Edinburgh, UK)
- Jiri Sgall (Charles U., Czech Republic - Chair)
- Martin J. Strauss (U. Michigan, USA)
- Ola Svensson (EPFL, Switzerland)
- Maxim Sviridenko (U. Warwick, UK)
- Pavel Valtr (Charles U., Czech Republic)
- Peter Widmayer (ETH, Switzerland)
- Gerhard Woeginger (Eindhoven U. Technology, Netherlands)
- James Worrell (U. Oxford, UK)


- Paper submission deadline: April 19, 2013 AOE
- Author notification: June 4, 2013 AOE
- Camera-ready deadline: June 16, 2013 AOE
- Conference: August 26-30, 2013


Submissions to MFCS must not exceed 12 pages (in Springer-Verlag's
Lecture Notes style and including bibliography). If the authors believe
that more details are essential to substantiate the main claims, they
may include a clearly marked appendix that will be read at the
discretion of the program committee. Simultaneous submissions of papers
to any other conference with published proceedings or submitting
previously published papers is not allowed. Only electronic submissions
in the PDF format are accepted. Information about the submission
procedure will be available on the conference web page in due time. The
proceedings will be published in the new ARCoSS subline of Lecture Notes
in Computer Science by Springer-Verlag.

Please submit via EasyChair


- Juraj Hromkovic (Zurich)
- Antonín Kucera (Brno), chair
- Jerzy Marcinkowski (Wroclaw)
- Damian Niwinski (Warsaw)
- Branislav Rovan (Bratislava)
- Jici Sgall (Prague)

The conference is organized by IST Austria in cooperation with EATCS.

* Contributions to be spread via DMANET are submitted to
* Replies to a message carried on DMANET should NOT be
* addressed to DMANET but to the original sender. The
* original sender, however, is invited to prepare an
* update of the replies received and to communicate it
* via DMANET.