Wednesday, March 8, 2017

[DMANET] COCOON 2017 Final Call For Papers

The 23rd Annual International Computing and Combinatorics Conference
August 3--5, 2017, Hong Kong, China

The 23rd Annual International Computing and Combinatorics Conference
(COCOON'17) will be held in Hong Kong, China, during August 3--5,
2017. Original research papers in the areas of algorithms, theory of
computation, computational complexity, and combinatorics related to
computing are solicited. In addition to theoretical results, we are
particularly interested in submissions that report on experimental and
applied research of general algorithmic interest. Special
consideration will be given to research that is motivated by
real-world problems. Experimental and applied papers are expected to
show convincingly the usefulness and efficiency of the algorithms
discussed in a practical setting.

Papers of high quality will be invited to special issues of
Algorithmica, Theoretical Computer Science (TCS), and Journal of
Combinatorial Optimization (JOCO).

The topics of interest include, but are not limited to, the following:

Algorithms and Data Structures
Algorithmic Game Theory
Approximation Algorithms and Online Algorithms
Automata, Languages, Logic, and Computability
Complexity Theory
Computational Learning Theory and Knowledge Discovery
Cryptography, Reliability and Security, and Database Theory
Computational Biology and Bioinformatics
Computational Algebra, Geometry, and Number Theory
Graph Drawing and Information Visualization
Graph Theory, Communication Networks, and Optimization
Parallel and Distributed Computing

Important dates

Paper submission due: March 20, 2017 (Anywhere on Earth)
Notification of Acceptance: May 20, 2017
Camera-ready and Registration: June 1, 2017
Conference Dates: August 3--5, 2017

Submission instructions

Authors are invited to submit an extended abstract of original research
on Computing and Combinatorics. Submissions must contain a scholarly
exposition of the ideas, techniques, and a full description of the results
achieved. A clear indication of the motivation and comparison with prior
related work should be presented. Simultaneous submission to other
refereed conferences is disallowed. Papers authored or co-authored by
members of the program committee are not allowed.

Submissions must adhere to the following guidelines: Papers must be
formatted using the LNCS style file
without altering margins or the font point. The maximum length of the
paper (excluding references and the optional appendix) is 12 pages.
Proofs omitted due to space constraints must be placed in an appendix
to be read by the program committee members at their discretion.
Papers that deviate from these guidelines risk being rejected without
consideration of their merits. Papers should be submitted electronically
via EasyChair (

Invited speakers
Dániel Marx (Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Hungary)
Shang-Hua Teng (University of Southern California, USA)
Virginia Vassilevska Williams (Stanford University, USA)

Program committee
Jarek Byrka (University of Wrocław, Poland)
Liming Cai (University of Georgia, USA)
Yixin Cao (Hong Kong Polytechnic University, China, co-chair)
Hubert Chan (University of Hong Kong, China)
Jianer Chen (Texas A&M University, Texas, co-chair)
Rajesh Chitnis (Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel)
Vida Dujmovic (University of Ottawa, Canada)
Funda Ergun (Indiana University, Indiana)
Siyao Guo (New York University, USA)
Magnús Már Halldórsson (Reykjavik University, Iceland)
Pinar Heggernes (University of Bergen, Norway)
Juraj Hromkovic (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)
Kazuo Iwama (Kyoto University, Japan)
Iyad Kanj (DePaul Universit, USA)
Bingkai Lin (National Institute of Informatics, Japan)
Daniel Lokshtanov (University of Bergen, Norway)
Monaldo Mastrolilli (IDSIA, Switzerland)
Ross McConnell (Colorado State University, Fort Collins, USA)
Vangelis Th. Paschos (University Paris-Dauphine, France)
Youming Qiao (University of Technology Sydney, Australia)
Piotr Sankowski (University of Warsaw, Poland)
Ryuhei Uehara (JAIST, Japan)
Magnus Wahlström (Royal Holloway, University of London, UK)
Lusheng Wang (City University of Hong Kong, China)
Gerhard Woeginger (Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherland)
Mary Wootters (Stanford University, USA)
Chee Yap (New York University, USA)
Grigory Yaroslavtsev (Indiana University, USA)
Neal Young (University of California, Riverside, USA)
Huacheng Yu (Stanford University, USA)
Shengyu Zhang (Chinese University of Hong Kong, China)
Daming Zhu (Shandong University, China)

* Contributions to be spread via DMANET are submitted to
* Replies to a message carried on DMANET should NOT be
* addressed to DMANET but to the original sender. The
* original sender, however, is invited to prepare an
* update of the replies received and to communicate it
* via DMANET.