Tuesday, February 5, 2013

SPAA 2013 - final call for papers

SPAA 2013 Final Call for Papers

25th ACM Symposium on
Parallelism in Algorithms and Architectures (SPAA 2013)
July 23-25, 2013 Montreal, Quebec, Canada

This year SPAA will be co-located with the ACM SIGACT-SIGOPS Symposium on
Principles of Distributed Computing (PODC 2013)


Important Dates:

Submission deadlines:
- Abstract: February 11, 2013, 11:59pm EST
- Full versions: February 13, 2013, 11:59pm EST

Notification: April 15, 2013

Camera-ready: May 14, 2013


Contributed papers are sought in all areas of parallel algorithms and
architectures, encompassing any computation system that can perform multiple
operations or tasks simultaneously. Topics of interest include, but are not
limited to:

- parallel and distributed algorithms
- parallel and distributed data structures
- green computing & power-efficient architectures
- management of massive data sets
- parallel complexity theory
- parallel and distributed architectures
- multi-core architectures
- instruction level parallelism and VLSI
- compilers and tools for concurrent programming
- supercomputing architecture and computing
- transactional memory hardware and software
- the internet and the world wide web
- game theory and collaborative learning
- routing and information dissemination
- resource management and awareness
- peer-to-peer systems
- mobile, ad-hoc, and sensor networks
- robustness, self-stabilization, and security
- synergy of parallelism in algorithms, programming, and architecture

Conference presentations will have two formats:

Regular presentations will be allotted a 25-minute talk and up to 10
pages in the proceedings. This format is intended for contributions
reporting original research, submitted exclusively to this conference.

Brief announcements will be allotted a 10-minute talk and a 2-page
abstract in the proceedings. This format is a forum for brief
communications, which may be published later in other conferences.

Every regular paper is eligible for the best paper award. The program
committee may decline to make this award or may split the award among
multiple papers.


Authors of contributed papers are encouraged to submit their manuscript
electronically. To submit electronically, visit http://www.spaa-conference.org
for instructions. This is the preferred method of submission. Authors unable
to submit electronically should contact the program chair Berthold Vocking at
voecking@cs.rwth-aachen.de to receive instructions.

The cover page should include (1) title, (2) authors and affiliation,
(3) postal and email address of the contact author, (4) a brief abstract
describing the content of the paper, and (5) an indication if this is a
regular presentation or a brief announcement. If requested by the authors, an
extended abstract that is not selected for a regular presentation will also be
considered for the SPAA brief announcements session. Such a request will not
affect the consideration of the paper for a regular presentation.

Submissions for regular presentations should include an introduction
understandable to a nonspecialist including motivation and previous work, and
a technical exposition directed to a specialist. A submission should not
exceed 10 printed pages in 11-point type or larger (excluding cover, figures,
and references). More details may be supplied in a clearly marked appendix to
be read at the discretion of the program committee. A submission for brief
announcements should be no longer than three pages (excluding the cover
page) using at least 11-point font.


Program Committee:

Matthew Andrews (Bell Labs) Hagit Attiya (Technion) Zhao jun Bai (UC Davis)
Michael Bender (Stony Brook U.) George Bosilca (U. of Tennessee) Michael
Dinitz (Weizmann Inst.) Robert Elsasser (Salzburg U.) Thomas Erlebach
(Leicester U.) Magnus M. Halldorsson (Reykjavik U.) Torsten Hoefl‚er (TU Berlin
& T-Labs) Giuseppe Persiano (U. Salerno) Cynthia A. Phillips (Sandia Labs)
Rajmohan Rajaraman (Northeastern U.) Andrea W. Richa (Arizona State U.)
Andre Schiper (EPFL Lausanne) Stefan Schmid (TU Berlin) Ravi Sundaram
(Northeastern U.) Peter Varman (Rice U.) Berthold Vocking (RWTH Aachen U.)
Jennifer L. Welch (Texas A&M U.) Norbert Zeh (Dalhousie U.)


Conference Committee:

Program Chair
Berthold Vocking (RWTH Aachen U.)

Conference Chair
Guy Blelloch (Carnegie Mellon University)

Christian Scheideler (University of Paderborn)

David Bunde (Knox College)

Publicity Chair
Jeremy Fineman (Georgetown University)

SPAA Local Arrangements
Lata Narayanan and Jaroslav Opatrny (Concordia University)