Friday, June 29, 2012


16th International Conference on Database Theory (ICDT 2013)
Genoa, Italy, March 18-22, 2013

The series of ICDT conferences provides an international forum for the
communication of research advances on the principles of database
systems. Originally biennial, the ICDT conference has been held
annually and jointly with EDBT ("Extending Database Technology") since

Important Dates
Abstract submission deadline: August 17, 2012, 11:59pm PDT
Paper submission deadline: August 24, 2012, 11:59pm PDT
Notification deadline: November 2, 2012
Conference: March 18-22, 2013

Topics of Interest
Topics of interest for submissions include but are not limited to:
Business processes and workflows; Concurrency and recovery; Constraint
databases; Data exchange and data integration; Data mining; Data
models, semantics, and query languages; Data privacy and security;
Data provenance; Data streams; Inconsistency and uncertainty in
databases; Information extraction; Deductive databases; Distributed
and parallel databases; Logic and databases; Query processing and
optimization; Semi-structured and Web data; Spatial and temporal
databases; Transaction management; Views and data warehousing.

Paper Submission
Papers must be submitted electronically to: Papers must be
submitted as PDF documents within 12 pages according to the ACM
guidelines, which can be found at Templates
are available in Word, WordPerfect, and LaTeX (versions 2.09 and
2e). For the LaTeX formats, you may use either the standard style or
the SIG-alternate style. It is not permissible to change the
template's font size, margins, inter-column spacing, or line spacing,
etc. If the authors believe more details are necessary to substantiate
the main claims of the paper, they may also include a clearly marked
appendix to be read at the discretion of the committee. Papers not
conforming to these requirements may be rejected without further
consideration. The deadline for abstract submission is August 17,
2012 and the deadline for paper submission is August 24, 2012.
Submission deadlines firm; late submissions will not be considered.
Authors will be notified of acceptance or rejection by November 2,
2012. The results must be unpublished and not submitted for
publication elsewhere, including the formal proceedings of other
symposia or workshops. All authors of accepted papers will be
expected to sign copyright release forms. One author of each accepted
paper will be expected to present it at the conference. The
proceedings will appear in the ACM International Conference
Proceedings Series (pending approval).

An award will be given to the best paper. Also, an award will be given
to the best paper written by newcomers to the field of database
theory. The latter award will preferentially be given to a paper
written only by students; in that case the award will be called "Best
Student Paper Award." The program committee reserves the following
rights: not to give an award; to split an award among several papers;
and to define the notion of a newcomer. Papers authored or co-authored
by Program Committee members are not eligible for any award.

Invited Speakers
- Jan van den Bussche (Hasselt Univ.)
- Yehoshua Sagiv (Hebrew Univ. of Jerusalem)
- Luc Segoufin (Inria & ENS-Cachan)

Conference Officers
- Program Chair:
Wang-Chiew Tan (IBM Almaden and UC Santa Cruz)

- Publicity Chair:
Benny Kimelfeld (IBM Almaden)

- Program Committee:
Balder ten Cate (UC Santa Cruz)
James Cheney (University of Edinburgh)
Jan Chomicki (University at Buffalo)
Sara Cohen (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
Todd J. Green (UC Davis & LogicBlox)
Sudipto Guha (University of Pennsylvania)
Benny Kimelfeld (IBM Almaden)
Solmaz Kolahi (Oracle)
Kobbi Nissim (Ben-Gurion University)
Antonella Poggi (Sapienza University of Rome)
Riccardo Rosati (Sapienza University of Rome)
Cristina Sirangelo (ENS Cachan)
Nicole Schweikardt (Goethe-University Frankfurt)
Kyusheok Shim (Seoul National University)
Slawek Staworko (University of Lille)
Jianwen Su (UC Santa Barbara)
Wang-Chiew Tan (IBM Almaden & UC Santa Cruz)
Stijn Vansummeren (University Libre de Bruxelles)
Victor Vianu (UC San Diego)
Jef Wijsen (University of Mons)